May 2, 2010

Courtesy of Texas

OKLAHOMA CITY -- The Texas Rowing team won the second-annual Big 12 Rowing Championship, Saturday morning on the Oklahoma River, marking its second straight conference title after capturing the previous seven Big 12 Invitational crowns.

Texas won the conference championship, totaling 108 points, while Oklahoma finished second with 97 points, Kansas claimed third with 92 points and Kansas State finished fourth with 86 points. The Longhorns' won all five of its races, winning the first varsity eight, second varsity eight, first varsity four, first novice eight and second novice eight.

Rowing becomes the fifth UT program during the 2009-10 athletics season to capture a Big 12 Conference championship, joining Volleyball, Football, Men's Swimming and Diving and Men's Tennis.

"We had some great races across the board today," head coach Carie Graves said. "The varsity did a nice job of toughing it out in a tight race with OU. There were several intense, well-fought races and overall it was a great day to be a Longhorn!"

The Horns' first varsity eight crew of coxswain Mary Cait McPherson, stroke Jacqueline Gorcyca, Laurel McCaig, Meg George, Nancy Arrington, Jennifer VanderMaarel, Courtney Nicklas, Sally Tunell and Felicia Izaguirre-Werner posted a time of 6:41.12 to edge Oklahoma's boat that finished in 6:41.86.

Texas' second varsity eight boat comprised of coxswain Emma Dirks, stroke Charity McDonald, Callie Mattrisch, Stephanie Matejka, Anna Thomson, Jelena Zunic, Tajana Lovric, Katarina Susac and Karli Sheahan completed the race in 6:54.61 to edge Kansas' crew that finished in 6:55.4.

The first varsity four boat of coxswain Megan Kelly, Colleen Irby, Katrina Cerk, Audrey Ullman and Julia Stevens clocked a time of 7:41.01 to best Kansas' second-place time of 7:44.87.

UT's first novice crew of coxswain Erin Gamez, stroke Taylor Parker, Madeline Shaw, Callan Wingo, Chelsea Burns, Lyndsey DuBose, Jillian Domingue, Sarah Pedersen and Emily Gross registered a time of 7:00.7 to defeat Oklahoma's second-place boat that clocked a time of 7:04.4.

The second novice eight boat of coxswain Katie Saye, stroke Lindsay Brettman, Brianna Bridges, Kassandra Budzik, Samantha McPherson, Kaylyn Fenner, Spencer White, Brittany Jensen and Kat Tong posted a time of 7:25.59 to defeat Oklahoma's boat that finished in 7:30.7.

The overall championship is determined by a point scale that designates a certain number of points for first, second and third place in each race. The first varsity race awards 48, 45, 42 and 39 points, while the 2V8 awards 32, 30, 28 and 26 and the 1V4 16, 15, 14 and 13. In the novice races the 1N8 awards eight, seven, six and five points and the 2N8 awards four, three, two and one points.

Texas returns to the water on Saturday, May 15 when it travels to Oak Ridge, Tenn. for the South/Central Regional.

Second Novice Eight
1. Texas - 7:25.59
2. Oklahoma -7:30.7
3. Kansas - 7:34.8

First Novice Eight
1. Texas - 7:00.7
2. Oklahoma - 7:04.4
3. Kansas - 7:08.17
4. Kansas State - 7:19.15

Varsity Four
1. Texas - 7:41.01
2. Kansas - 7:44.87
3. Oklahoma - 7:47.11
4. Kansas State - 7:51.09

Second Varsity Eight
1. Texas - 6:54.61
2. Kansas - 6:55.4
3. Oklahoma - 7:02.7
4. Kansas State- 7:04.97

First Varsity Eight
1. Texas - 6:41.12
2.Oklahoma - 6:41.86
3. Kansas State - 6:55.17
4. Kansas - 7:06.12

Total Points
Texas- 108
Oklahoma - 97
Kansas - 92
Kansas State- 86