May 11, 2010

NCAA Release

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Women's Rowing Committee has selected the teams that will compete in the 2010 NCAA Division III Women's Rowing Championships.

The championships will be held May 28-29 at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, California. Washington State University will serve as host.

The championships are comprised of seven teams and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and a coxswain. Two at-large Eights also are selected. The following are the berths that are allocated: Pool A - one (Pool A consists of the conference that has been awarded automatic qualification); Pool B/C - six (Pools B and C include independents, institutions from conferences that do not meet automatic-qualification standards and Pool A institutions that did not receive their conference's automatic qualification. Due to the fact that Pool A only has one automatic-qualifying conference, Pools B and C have been collapsed).

Pool A

*Automatic qualifier
Pool B/C
Puget Sound
St. Lawrence
Trinity (Connecticut)

At-Large I Eights
Mary Washington
William Smith

In 2009, Williams captured its fourth consecutive Division III Women's Rowing Championship team title at Cooper River Park in Cherry Hill, New Jersey.

For championship information and results, go to the NCAA Web site at

The 2010 CBS Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA (spring seasonal show), featuring highlights from the women's rowing championships, will air at 4 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, June 19, on CBS.