WORCESTER, Mass. -- For the second consecutive season, Wellesley can lay claim to the NEWMAC Championship. The Blue's varsity eight edged out second-place Coast Guard in collecting their third overall title at the 2012 league championship on Lake Quinsigamond on Saturday morning.

Wellesley, who posted a time of 7:26.4, was nearly four seconds ahead of the Bears (7:30.3). Smith turned in a third-place finish with a time of 7:37.3 with WPI close behind (7:38.1). Mount Holyoke (8:02.1) and Clark (8:17.3) rounded out the field.

The Blue also picked up the Florence Smith Jope Cup, given annually to the team with the most overall points during the four championship events. Wellesley took first-place honors in both the novice eight (7:49.2) and in the second varsity eight (7:43.9), while Smith crossed the line first in the third varsity eight race (8:01.5) that featured only three boats.

Following the races, the 2011 all-conference honorees were announced. The varsity selections are: Genevieve DeAngelis and Katy Nowoswiat of Clark University; Holly Madden and Sarah Jane Otey of Coast Guard; Carol Still and Hattie Gemerchak of Mount Holyoke; Jessica Frey and Patty Suquilanda of Wellesley; and Brooke Cotta and Suzanna Kelley of WPI.

The novice selections included Katie Baldyga of Clark; Brynna Cooke of Coast Guard; Samantha Marsden of Mount Holyoke; Caroline Finn of Smith; Loren Lock of Wellesley and Corre Steele of WPI.