SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. -- The 2012 Liberty League rowing championships took place Saturday in Saratoga Springs, N.Y. The William Smith College women captured the varsity 8 titles.

In women's crew, defending champ William Smith won its sixth varsity 8 conference title.

The Herons posted a 7:22.0 time, more than 12 seconds better than runner-up St. Lawrence.

As for the novice division, the Herons won their sixth consecutive championship (7:55.1). Union placed second at 9:02.38.