FELLSMERE, Fla. -- No. 2 Nova Southeastern had another successful day Saturday at the Division II Duals, featuring several nationally ranked top-eight teams racing in Canal 54.

"Even though we weren't perfect [on Saturday], all of our boats were able to achieve success, head coach Stephen Frazier Wong said. “Our eight had an especially good day winning both of their races. The team is really working hard so it's gratifying to see that our effort is translating to boat speed in these early regattas."

The Sharks were pitted against No. 6 Central Oklahoma and No. 8 Florida Tech separately in the Varsity 8 and Varsity 4 events. The Sharks’ 8 boat earned back-to-back wins, defending their No. 2 slot in the initial rankings.

Against the Panthers in the event’s first race of the day, the Sharks finished with a time of 6:58.7 and beat the host school by more than 24 seconds. The Sharks were even faster against Central Oklahoma, finishing in 6:54.2. The time bested Central Oklahoma by 9.5 seconds.

The Varsity 8 was made up of coxswain Courtney Berger, Lauren Boudreau,Tori Torrisi, Kelly Scott, Emily Harrington, Amanda Craig, Caitlin Mooney, Sarah Patterson and Camille Evans.

"We have been looking forward to this weekend for several months now,” Boudreau said. “It marks the official start to our season and we were able to put down some great racing. I am really looking forward to both the training and racing we have ahead of us this season."

The NSU Varsity 4 boat went 1-1 on the day, defeating Florida Tech but falling to Central Oklahoma. In the boat’s first race against the Panthers, the Sharks finished in 8:04.1, seven seconds faster than Florida Tech. In their second race, the Sharks finished second with a time of 7:56.5. They were bested by Central Oklahoma’s time of 7:50.1

The boat was made up of coxswain Amanda Hudon, Taylor Van Horn, Kelsey Obringer, Adrianna Rosario and Mooney.

In the final event of the day, the Sharks competed in the Varsity 4 B race against Central Oklahoma. The Sharks did not let them off the hook this time, as the B boat won with a time of 8:06.1. The time was 11 seconds faster than their out-of-state foe.

The boat was comprised of coxswain Sarah Erickson, Megan O'Donnell, Amber Morrell, Abbey Schiavo and Ashley Day.