WORCESTER, Mass. -- For the third consecutive year, Wellesley's Varsity 8 captured the NEWMAC Rowing Championship on Lake Quinsigamond. The Blue edged out second-place WPI in collecting its fourth overall crown at the 2013 league championship on Sunday.

Wellesley, which posted a time of 6:46.60, was just more than two seconds ahead of the Engineers (6:48.80). Smith turned in a third-place finish with a time of 6:54.60 with Coast Guard (7:00.74) and Simmons (7:04.30) close behind. Mount Holyoke (7:09.10) and Clark (7:36.20) rounded out the field.

The Blue laid claim to the Florence Jope Smith Cup, given annually to the team with the most overall points during the four championship events. The Blue also rode to victory in the Novice 8 with a time of 7:15.90.

WPI, which had never won a race in the 21-year history of the NEWMAC Championships, tasted victory twice in 10 minutes on Sunday, winning the Third Varsity 8 (7:10.00) and Second Varsity 8 (6:55.36) en route to a program-best second-place performance in the Smith Cup.

Following the races, the 2013 All-Conference honorees were revealed. The varsity selections were Aidan Chambers and Ali Pierson of Wellesley, Samantha Thompson and Alexandra Niclou of Clark, Catherine Schmitz and Jessica Ward of Coast Guard, Hannah Arbach and Cara Murphy of Mount Holyoke, Anna Rowse and Andrea Breen of Simmons, Piper Hayden and Jane Turner of Smith, and Maggie Freed and Corre Steele of WPI.

The novice selections included Kelsey Trabucco of Wellesley, Kaylee Merlow of Clark, Jane Saunders of Coast Guard, Ashley Avila of Mount Holyoke, Allie Belanger of Simmons, Michaela Gill of Smith and Julie Waddell of WPI.