rowing-d2 flag

Nova Southeastern Athletics | April 19, 2014

No. 1 Nova Southeastern places second at SIRA

OAKRIDGE, Tenn. -- No. 1 Nova Southeastern placed second overall and first among NCAA Division II teams at the Southern Intercollegiate Rowing Association (SIRA) championship on Saturday.

In the varsity-8 semifinals, NSU finished second to Kansas State with a time of 7:02.9, three seconds behind their DI opponent. In the finals, NSU finished second again to the Wildcats with a time of 6:53.6. The Sharks defeated schools such as George Washington, Purdue and Dayton in the finals.

The V8 boat was comprised of: coxswain Courtney Berger, Tori Torrisi, Bethany Warlich, Stephanie Hauck, Megan O'Donnell, Adrianna Rosario, Emily Harrington, Amanda Craig and Kelly Scott .

In the varsity-4 semifinals, the Sharks finished second with a time of 8:01.5. They were five seconds behind Kansas State but 12 seconds ahead of the rest of the field. In the finals, the four boat finished second in a time of 8:00.6, once again five seconds off the Wildcats.

The V4 boat was made up of: coxswain Amanda Hudon, Cassily Lobaugh, Daesha Roberts, Kelsey Obringer and Remi McClellan.

NSU will race in the 2014 Sunshine State Conference Championship on April 25 in Sarasota, Fla.