rowing-d1 flag | May 29, 2014

22 teams set to compete at the DI championship in Indianapolis

This year’s NCAA DI rowing championship will take place at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis from May 30 to June 1. The team championship is composed of 22 teams. Eleven conferences were awarded automatic qualification and the remaining 11 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the championship field. Over the course of three days of competition, top finishers from each heat will advance to the championship heats while the remaining teams will compete in consolation heats.

Boston University

Overcoming a five point deficit entering the final race of the Patriot League championship, Boston University won the conference crown in dramatic fashion to earn the automatic bid. In the final race of the day, the Terriers’ varsity eight boat won the grand final as Navy, the point leader entering the race, finished a distant fourth allowing BU to claim the crown.


Jacksonville will join the 22-team field at the championship for the first time in school history. “We knew we were going to be better this year than in the past but we didn’t expect it to happen this quick.

We have a young team. There are a lot of freshmen and sophomores, so we knew we were going to grow but to have it happen this fast is exciting. It makes our alumni proud. It makes the parents proud, the administration proud and just everyone involved proud,” head coach Jim Mitchell said.



The Northeastern varsity eight, second varsity eight, and varsity four will compete in the regatta, marking the first team appearance for the Huskies and the fifth appearance by the varsity eight since the NCAA regatta was launched in 1997. The NU varsity earned top-10 finishes in each of its previous four trips, including a fourth-place showing in 1998.

Ohio State

With its 15th-consecutive appearance at the NCAA championships, Ohio State is one of only five programs in the nation to achieve such a feat, joining Brown, California, Princeton and Washington for the most consecutive trips to the national championships as a team.  

Ohio State made program history in 2013, capturing its first NCAA championship as a team in addition to claiming individual titles in the first varsity four and second varsity eight. The Buckeyes became the first Big Ten rowing program and the first women’s program at Ohio State to win an NCAA championship.

Southern California

The Women of Troy may be as diverse a team as there is. The United States is represented by nine different states with only seven rowers from California. The U.S. is just one of eight different countries represented on Southern California's varsity roster. Trojan boats have rowers from Canada, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Latvia, Serbia, and Sweden.

USC returned two CRCA All-Americans to its 2013-14 roster. Senior stroke Vineta Moca was a second-team selection as a sophomore a first-teamer as a junior. Junior port Krisztina Gyimes received second-team honors as a sophomore in 2013. The Trojans have had 25 All-Americans with 22 since head coach Zenon Babraj arrived on campus.

These are the best father-son, junior-senior duos in college basketball

Many current college basketball players have fathers who played college basketball, so we asked which duos would make the best team in a hypothetical 2-on-2 tournament.

College football's longest active road winning streaks

These college football teams have the longest active road winning streaks in the FBS, entering 2021-22.

3 men's basketball rematches from the 2021 NCAA tournament we'll see this season

Thanks to men's basketball schedule-makers, we'll see Gonzaga vs. UCLA Part 2 in 2021.
Division I
Rowing Championship
May 27-29, 2022
Nathan Benderson Park | Sarasota, FL