rowing-d2 flag

Nova Southeastern Athletics | May 31, 2014

Nova Southeastern sends boats directly to grand finals

INDIANAPOLIS -- Top-ranked Nova Southeastern will send the varsity 8 and varsity 4 boats right to Sunday's grand finals at the 2014 NCAA Division II National Championship at the Indianapolis Rowing Center at Eagle Creek Park.

The Sharks won their first race of the weekend in the first V8 heat against No. 4 Barry and No. 5 Mercyhurst. NSU took the race in a time of 06:56.4. The Sharks established a boat-length lead before the halfway point of the race and cruised to victory, defeating Barry by four seconds and Mercyhurst by 30 seconds.

Racing in the V8 were: coxswain Courtney Berger, Tori Torrisi, Bethany Warlich, Adrianna Rosario, Megan O'Donnell, Amanda Craig, Emily Harrington, Remi McClellan and Kelly Scott.

The toughest task for NSU was expected to take place in the V4 heat, pitting the Sharks against No. 2 Humboldt State. The two best crews went 1-1 against each other at the Aberdeen Dad Vail Regatta. At Nationals, the Sharks put all doubts to rest by jumping out to a very early lead and holding an open water lead for the majority of the race. The Sharks finished in a time of 08:01.65, nearly 12 seconds faster than the Jacks.

The V4 boat consisted of: coxswain Amanda Hudon, Cassily Lobaugh, Daesha Roberts, Caitlin Mooney and Kelsey Obringer.

The grand final for the V4 is scheduled for 9:30 a.m. ET on Sunday, while the grand final for the V8 is scheduled for 9:50 a.m. ET.


Day 3 was a day of firsts at the 2023 DII softball championship

Saturday at the 2023 DII softball championship saw the first four teams sent home. Here's how the day went down.

Nova Southeastern wins the 2023 DII men’s basketball national championship

Nova Southeastern defeated West Liberty, 111-101, in the highest scoring championship game in DII men's basketball history.

UIndy men, Nova Southeastern women win 2023 DII swim and dive championships

The UIndy men and the Nova Southeastern women are the DII swim and dive champions for 2023.