Feb. 2, 2009


Courtesy of Dartmouth Athletics

BARTLETT, N.H. -- Trailing host New Hampshire by 12 points heading into the final day of competition, the Dartmouth ski team rode several strong performances by the women's squad to win the UNH Winter Carnival at Attitash Mountain and the Jackson XC Center. At day's end, the Big Green won its second straight carnival of 2009 with 901 points; UNH finished second with 834, and Vermont finished third with 750.

Women's alpine skied strongly in Saturday's slalom race, led by Dartmouth sophomore and Friday's giant slalom winner Courtney Hammond, in 1:36.76. Jilyne McDonald of UVM and Veronique Archambault-Leger of UNH rounded out the podium. Tina Roberts, a Dartmouth junior, placed sixth, while junior teammate Hayley Jones took 16th; freshman Corrinne Rotter and sophomore Kelsey Roddick finished 24th and 25th. Freshman Erin Fucigna tailed in 47th place.

The cross country women also displayed outstanding results during their 10-kilometer freestyle race. Dartmouth sophomore Rosie Brennan commanded the competition in both events this weekend, leading Saturday's race with a time of 29:33.3. UVM's Caitlin Patterson took second, narrowly missing the lead, followed by Lucy Garrec of Colby College in third place. Dartmouth senior and team captain Hannah Dreissigacker finished fourth, while sophomore Ida Sargent took sixth and freshman Erika Flowers placed eighth. Freshman Stephanie Crocker and senior Chelsea Little finished 14th and 18th, respectively.

While Sylvan Ellefson of Bates College took the win in the cross country men's 10-kilometer freestyle competition with a time of 25:03.3, Dartmouth sophomore Nils Koons and senior teammate Ben True completed the podium in second and third places. Senior Glenn Randall finished closely behind in fifth place, followed by junior Patrick O'Brien in ninth place. Senior Pavel Sotskov placed 19th, and freshman Eric Packer took 22nd.

Men's alpine struggled to finish the second run of Saturday's slalom competition, but ended the day with solid results. UVM's David Donaldson won the race with a time of 1:29.92, followed by Alex Dyroff of Williams and UNH's William Ford  in second and third. Dartmouth senior Rusty Heise finished best for the Big Green in 12th place, while sophomore teammate Ace Tarberry trailed in 14th. Freshmen Trevor Leafe and Luke McLaughry placed 29th and 44th, respectively.