INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Skiing Committee announced today the 74 men and 74 women selected to participate in the 2009 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Skiing Championships, to be held March 11-14 at Sunday River and Black Mountain in Bethel and Rumford, Maine. The championships will be hosted by Bates College.

Participants are selected on a regional basis from two designated regions for Alpine skiing (East and West Regions) and three designated regions for Nordic skiing (Central, East and West Regions). Bids are awarded to regions using a formula determined by the skiing committee. A maximum of 12 student-athletes (three per gender per discipline) may participate from an institution.

Alpine events will run March 11 and 13 at Sunday River. The men’s and women’s giant slaloms will be held March 11, with the men’s and women’s slaloms conducted March 13.

Nordic events will be held March 12 and 14 at Black Mountain. The men’s 10-kilometer and women’s five-kilometer classical cross-country races will be conducted March 12.  The women’s 15-kilometer and men’s 20-kilometer freestyle races will be held March 14.

Complete Regional and Institutional Breakdown in PDF Format. Get Acrobat Reader


Highlights of the skiing championships will be shown on CBS at 1 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, May 2. CBS Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA will feature highlights of 17 different NCAA championships, each taking place during the winter season.

The University of Denver will enter the 2009 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Skiing Championships as the defending champion after claiming its record 19th title at last year’s championships in Montana. The Pioneers earned 649.5 team points, overcoming a 17.5-point deficit on the final day of competition to push past the second-place finishers from the University of Colorado. The University of Utah finished third.

Denver’s John Buchar claimed individual titles in both of the men’s Alpine events while Lucie Zikova of Colorado topped the field in both of the women’s Alpine events. Maria Grevsgaard, also of Colorado, claimed the individual titles in both of the women’s Nordic races. The men’s Nordic titles were split between Dartmouth College’s Glenn Randall, who won the 10-kilometer freestyle race, and Marius Korthauer of the University of Alaska-Fairbanks who claimed the 20-kilometer classical title.