Jan. 24, 2010


Courtesy of Dartmouth

JEFFERSONVILLE, Vt. - Through two days of strong competition, the Dartmouth ski team remained on top this weekend to win the season's second Eastern Intercollegiate Ski Association (EISA) winter carnival hosted by St. Michael's College. The Big Green led with 855 points after Saturday's events at the Sleepy Hollow Ski Center and the Smuggler's Notch Resort, followed by the University of Vermont in second place (784 points) and the University of New Hampshire in third (765.5 points).

Saturday's cross country events consisted of a 3x3-kilometer classical sprint relay, where teams of 3 athletes each raced 3 times around a 1-kilometer course. The women's event was won by a team of Dartmouth racers, including sophomores Stephanie Crocker and Erika Flowers, and senior Katie Bono in a combined time of 37 minutes, 22.2 seconds. Lauren Fritz, Corinne Prevot, and Keely Levins of Middlebury College comprised the second place team, and UVM team Caitlin Curran, Jane McClelland and Jennie Bender placed third. The team consisting of Dartmouth freshman Megan Killigrew, sophomore Ruth McGovern, and senior Julie Carson placed 6th.

Middlebury team Graham Egan, Chase Marston, and Douglas Debold claimed the win in the men's 3x3-kilometer relay with a combined time of 30 minutes, 51.4 seconds, followed by the Big Green team in second place, consisting of Dartmouth senior Patrick O'Brien, sophomore Gordon Vermeer, and junior Nils Koons. Zach Wetherell, Benjamin Knowles, and Eric Wolcott of St. Lawrence University comprised the 3rd place team. Dartmouth junior John Gerstenberger, freshman Scott Lacy, and sophomore Alex Schulz made up the second team for the Big Green, placing 9th.

On the alpine side, Friday's leader Megan Ryley of the University of Vermont, won Saturday's slalom competition in a combined time of 1 minute, 43.99 seconds. Placing second, was Ashley-Kate Durham of St. Lawrence University, and Laurel Carter of Williams College rounded out the podium in third. Dartmouth senior Christine Roberts was the Big Green's first finisher in 8th place, followed by freshman teammate Annie Rendall (9th) and sophomore Erin Fucigna (11th). Dartmouth junior Courtney Hammond placed 35th, and freshman Madeline Packard took 40th.

University of Vermont skier David Donaldson took the win in the men's slalom race in a combined time of 1 minute, 32.89 seconds, followed by Bobby Poehling of Middlebury College in second place, and Vincent Lebrun-Fortin of Colby College in third. Sophomore Braden Long was the first finisher for the Big Green in 7th place. Additional Big Green results include senior Francis Fortin-Houle (9th), and sophomores Luke McLaughry (16th), Trevor Leafe (22nd), and Peter Ankeny (30th). Dartmouth junior Ace Tarberry finished in 40th place.

The EISA carnival circuit will take next weekend off, resuming February 5-7 with both intercollegiate and Eastern Cup events at the Stowe Resort and the Trapp Family Lodge hosted by the University of Vermont.

For complete races results, visit the EISA web site.