INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Skiing Committee announced the 74 men and 74 women selected to participate in the 2011 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Skiing Championships, to be held March 9-12, at the Stowe Mountain Resort and Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe, Vermont. The championships will be hosted by the University of Vermont.

Participants are selected on a regional basis from two designated regions for Alpine skiing (East and West Regions) and three designated regions for Nordic skiing (Central, East and West Regions). Bids are awarded to regions using a formula determined by the skiing committee. A maximum of 12 student-athletes (three per gender per discipline) may participate from an institution.

Nordic events will be held March 9 and 11 at Trapp Family Lodge. The men’s 10-kilometer and women’s five-kilometer freestyle cross-country races will be conducted March 9. The women’s 15-kilometer and men’s 20-kilometer classical races will be held March 11.

Alpine events will run March 10 and 12 at Stowe Mountain Resort. The men’s and women’s giant slaloms will be held March 10, with the men’s and women’s slaloms conducted March 12.

This year’s skiing championships will be webcast live on In addition, highlights of the skiing championships will be shown on CBS at 1 p.m. ET, Saturday, April 30. 

Participants by Discipline and Region
East Region – Men East Region – Women
Peter Ankeny, Dartmouth Catherine Blanchard, New Hampshire
Paul Atkinson, New Hampshire Laurel Carter, Williams
John Canney, Bates Ashley-Kate Durham, St. Lawrence
Zach Clayton, New Hampshire Nicole Dvorak, Middlebury
Sam Coffey, New Hampshire Erin Fucigna, Dartmouth
Rob Cone, Middlebury Courtney Hammond, Dartmouth
Evan Diamond, Dartmouth Micaela Holland, Bates
Kevin Drury, Vermont Lyndee Janowiak, Vermont
Bump Heldman, Bates Annie Leiter, Williams
Tim Kelley, Vermont Marie-Elaine Lepine, New Hampshire
Trevor Leafe, Dartmouth Geordie Lonza, Williams
Ben Manter, Bates Rebecca Nadler, Harvard
Marc Massie, Colby Annie Rendall, Dartmouth
Andrew McNealus, Middlebury Laura Rozinowicz, New Hampshire
Brian Morgan, Colby Kate Ryley, Vermont
Jonathan Nordbotten, Vermont Meg Ryley, Vermont
Hig Roberts, Middlebury Catherine Sheils, Harvard
Jim Ryan, Colby Tasha Woodworth, Middlebury
West Region – Men West Region – Women
Chris Acosta, New Mexico Karen Bell, Montana State
Andreas Adde, Alaska Anchorage Ida Bjerka, Alaska Anchorage
Chris Barber, Montana State Anne Cecilie Brusletto, New Mexico
Petter Brenna, New Mexico Lindsay Cone, Denver
Eric Davis, Colorado Stefanie Demetz, New Mexico
Jeremy Elliot, Utah Ida Dillingoen, Denver
Halfdan Falkum-Hansen, Alaska Anchorage Erika Ghent, Colorado
Kitt Flowers, Denver Sterling Grant, Denver
Andreas Haug, Colorado Sara Hjertman, Colorado
Geoff Irwin, Montana State Kayla Hoog-Fry, Alaska Anchorage
Andreas Kilde, Denver Eva Huckova, Utah
Christopher Kollenborg, Alaska Anchorage Anna Kocken, Utah
Torjus Krodgahl, Utah Carolina Nordh, Colorado
Gabriel Rivas, Colorado Alex Parker, Alaska Anchorage
Seppi Stiegler, Denver Marissa Riopelle, Montana State
Armin Triendl, New Mexico Tii-Maria Romar, Utah
Ryan Wilson, Utah Kate Williams, New Mexico
Central Region – Men Central Region – Women
Martin Banerud, Northern Michigan Malin Eriksson, Michigan Tech
Jens Brabbit, Gustavus Adolphus Carolyn Freeman, Green Bay
Mikko Harju, Michigan Tech Monica Markvardsen, Northern Michigan
Tyler Kornfield, Alaska Fairbanks Theresia Schnurr, Alaska Fairbanks
Andy Liebner, Northern Michigan Raphaela Sieber, Alaska Fairbanks
David Norris, Alaska Fairbanks Marie Helen Soderman, Northern Michigan
Erik Soderman, Northern Michigan Christina Turman, Northern Michigan
Alexander Treinen, Alaska Fairbanks  
East Region – Men East Region – Women
Jake Barton, Colby Rosie Brennan, Dartmouth
Franz Bernstein, Vermont Sophie Caldwell, Dartmouth
Wyatt Fereday, Colby Clare Egan, New Hampshire
Harrison Harb, New Hampshire Erika Flowers, Dartmouth
Alex Howe, Vermont Lucy Garrec, Vermont
Keith Kantack, Williams Kirsten Gill, Bates
Nils Koons, Dartmouth Amy Glen, Vermont
Ben Lustgarten, Middlebury Elizabeth Guiney, New Hampshire
Dimitri Luethi, Williams Leah Hart, St. Lawrence
Chase Marston, Middlebury Tasha Kullas, New Hampshire
Eric Packer, Dartmouth Caitlin Patterson, Vermont
Scott Patterson, Vermont Corrine Prevot, Middlebury
Welly Ramsey, Maine-Presque Isle Natalie Ruppertsberger, Bates
Sam Tarling, Dartmouth Alena Tofte, Harvard
  Sarah Tory, Williams
West Region – Men West Region – Women
Erik Bjornsen, Alaska Anchorage Jaime Bronga, Alaska Anchorage
Andrew Dougherty, Denver Makayla Cappel, Denver
Lukas Ebner, Alaska Anchorage Ase Carlson, Montana State
Tor-Hakon Hellebostad, New Mexico Kate Dolan, Denver
Miles Havlick, Utah Mari Elden, Denver
Martin Kaas, New Mexico Maria Graefnings, Utah
Vegard Kjoelhamar, Colorado Eliska Hajkova, Colorado
Trygve Markset, Denver Christina Hellberg, New Mexico
Jesper Ostensen, Colorado Steffi Hiemer, Alaska Anchorage
Christian Otto, New Mexico Sofie Jonsson, New Mexico
Reid Pletcher, Colorado Casey Kutz, Montana State
Tyler Reinking, Montana State Marta Larsen, Utah
Bernhard Roenning, Montana State Joanne Reid, Colorado
Ryan Scott, Montana State Laura Rombach, Alaska Anchorage
Didrik Smith, Utah Zoe Roy, Utah
Tom Smith, Utah Alexa Turzian, Colorado
Kristian Soerlund, Denver Martine Weng, New Mexico
Participants by Institution
Alaska Anchorage 3 3 2 3 11
Alaska Fairbanks 0 0 3 2 5
Bates 3 1 0 2 6
Colby 3 0 2 0 5
Colorado 3 3 3 3 12
Dartmouth 3 3 3 3 12
Denver 3 3 3 3 12
Green Bay 0 0 0 1 1
Gustavus Adolphus 0 0 1 0 1
Harvard 0 2 0 1 3
Maine-Presque Isle 0 0 1 0 1
Michigan Tech 0 0 1 1 2
Middlebury 3 2 2 1 8
Montana State 2 2 3 2 9
New Hampshire 3 3 1 3 10
New Mexico 3 3 3 3 12
Northern Michigan 0 0 3 3 6
St. Lawrence 0 1 0 1 2
Utah 3 3 3 3 12
Vermont 3 3 3 3 12
Williams 0 3 2 1 6

The University of Denver enters the 2011 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Skiing Championships as the three-time defending champion after claiming its record 21st title at last year’s championships in Colorado. The Pioneers earned 785.5 team points, finishing more than 70 points ahead of the University of Colorado, Boulder, who claimed the second-place position. The University of New Mexico finished third at 677 team points.

Denver’s Antje Maempel claimed individual titles in both of the women’s Nordic events for the second year in a row, becoming only the second female skier in NCAA history to do so. Last year’s men’s Nordic titles were split between Colorado’s Matt Gelso, who claimed the 10-kilometer classical title, and Vermont’s Franz Bernstein, who won the 20-kilometer freestyle race.

On the Alpine side, giant slalom titles were won by Eva Huckova of the University of Utah and Leif Kristian Haugen of Denver. Andreas Adde claimed the men’s slalom individual title for the University of Alaska Anchorage while Malin Hemmingsson claimed her second consecutive women’s slalom title for New Mexico.