NEWRY/RUMFORD, Maine – Vermont capped off a stellar EISA season by winning the Eastern Regional Championship with 1,017 points. The Catamounts outdistanced Dartmouth by 143 points to earn its fifth win in the final carnival of the year. UVM captured its 31st EISA Championship and first title since 2006.

Kevin Drury continued his hot streak, winning the men's giant slalom with a time of 2:26.65, including a scorching first run of 1:12.84. Drury, who won both the slalom and GS last week at the Middlebury Carnival, picked up his third win in four races and second podium appearance of the weekend. He edged out Middlebury's Hig Roberts by 15 tenths of a second.

Newcomer Jonathan Nordbotten continued his impressive first season at UVM, earning third in the GS with a time of 2:27.57 and Tim Kelley finished eighth to round out the scoring skiers for Vermont in the event.

In the women's GS, Geordie Lonza from Williams College was a surprise winner, finishing the day with a two-run time of 2:33.53. Dartmouth's Erin Fucigna placed second (2:34.13) and was followed by UVM's Amanda McDonald and Valerie Kechain, who each earned the final spot on the podium with a third place finish and matching times of 2:34.23, 10 tenths of a second out of the second spot. It was the first podium appearance of the year for both skiers. After Lonza and Fucigna, a Catamount took the next five spots in the standings.

The Nordic teams competed in the classic discipline on Sunday. UVM's Caitlin Patterson entered the race with a perfect 7-0 mark on the year, but Rosie Brennan of Dartmouth posted a time 3 seconds better than Patterson to win the 15k classic. Brennan finished the course in a time of 52:35.6, while Patterson clocked in at 52:38.6.

Teammate Amy Glen joined Patterson on the podium with a time of 52:39.1 and Lucy Garrec was seventh at 53:37.7 to pick up the final scoring spot for the Catamounts.

Eric Packer picked up his second win of the weekend, finishing first in the men's 20k classic race with a time of 1:01.33.2, allowing the Big Green to sweep the Nordic races. Scott Patterson, led a pack of four Catamounts in the top-10. He placed second overall with a time of 1:01.41.5, for his fourth appearance on the podium this year.

Fritz Horst and Franz Bernstein also scored for the Catamounts in the event. Horst was the second UVM skier across the finish line, placing sixth overall with a time of 1:02.58.4 and Bernstein followed in eighth place and Alex Howe finished 10th.

Next up for Vermont is the 2011 NCAA Ski Championships, which the Catamounts will host, March 9-12 at Stowe Mountain Resort and Trapp Family Lodge. UVM will be hosting the national championships for the first time since 2005.