GIRDWOOD, Alaska -- Shane McLean won her first collegiate race and Colorado remained in second place as alpine action got under way on Wednesday. 

Utah stretched its lead to 97 points against the Buffaloes with a win in the women’s race, racking up 130 points, and coming in second to Denver in the men’s race, scoring 118 points. The Utes have 718 points to CU’s total of 621 as the Buffs managed 100 points in the women’s race but just 78 in the men’s. 

 Alaska-Anchorage and Denver are tied for third with 551 points. Montana State sits in fifth place with 543 points and New Mexico has 516 points in sixth place. 

McLean, won both runs with a combined time of 1:55.38, exactly one second ahead of Utah's Julie Bordeau. 

McLean was the bright spot of an otherwise tough day for the Buffs. Hartman finished 12th in a time of 1:59.83 while Carolina Nordh finished 20th in 2:00.96 and Khyla Burrows 24th in 2:02.93. Jenny Allen had to hike on her first run and finished 29th in 2:08.69 while Ghent, who was in fourth place after the first run, finished 31st in her second run, 2:12.78. 

Behind Bordeau (1:56.38) in the women’s race was Romar, who closed out the podium in a time of 1:57.27. Alaska Anchorage’s Anais Urbain took fourth in 1:57.72, just ahead of fifth place Jamie DuPratt from Utah (1:57.75).  Utah won the race with 130 points while the Buffaloes and New Mexico tied for second with 100 points, and the Seawolves were right in the mix with 96 points.

On the men’s side Andreas Haug was the Buffaloes top finisher, brining home 13th place in a time of 1:57.05 as the Buffs failed to have a top- 0 performance on the men’s alpine side for the first time since the 2010 NCAA Championships. 

Fletcher McDonald finished 20th in 1:57.91 and Taggart Spenst came in 22nd (1:58.45). Max Lamb finished 27th in 2:03.38. Adam Zika did not finish his first run after finishing in the top four in the first three GS races of the year, including two runner-up performances. 

Utah’s Nick Cohee continued his dominance in giant slalom races this year, winning his third out of four races on the season. He pulled out the narrow victory with a time of 1:54.21, behind Denver’s Espen Lysdahl (1:54.70) and Westminster’s Petter Brenna (1:55.24). Denver’s Trevor Philip took fourth in 1:55.41 and the Utes' Ryan Wilson rounded out the top five with a time of 1:55.41. Denver defeated Utah, 123-118.