WATERVILLE, Maine -- Scott Patterson defeated the field by more than a minute to win the men's 20K freestyle mass start race and lead the Vermont Catamounts to a consecutive EISA Carnival victory at the Colby Carnival. Vermont totaled 962 points, while Dartmouth was second with 845 points.

Vermont's alpine team won both the men's and women's giant slalom races on to give the Catamounts a 39.5-point lead on Day 1. Kate Ryley won the women's GS. She posted the fastest time of the day in the first run (51.61) and finished with a two-run total of 1:44.58 to beat out Harvard's Rebecca Nadler by a second. On the men's side, Middlebury's David Donaldson earned a win with a time of 1:40.18 in the men's GS.

They extended their lead to 104 points after the second day of racing. The alpine teams swept the slalom events on the final day of their competition. The UVM women swept the podium, led by Kristina Riis-Johannessen's win with a time of 1:29.53. Elise Tefre was second (1:30.26) and Ryley finished third (1:30.27).

On the men's side, Jonathan Nordbotten won the slalom with a time of 1:24.62 and Travis Dawson placed third (1:25.85).

Anja Gruber earned her second win of the season to lead the UVM Nordic team on Day 3. Gruber won the women's 5k classic with a time of 17:33.5. Jane McClelland placed ninth overall (18:12.6), while Stephanie Kirk and Danvind-Malm finished 12th and 13th, respectively.

In the men's 10k classic the Catamounts went 4-5-9-11, led by Jorgren Grav (25:38.2) and Scott Patterson (25:41.5). Cole Morgen finished ninth to give UVM three skiers in the top-10. Dylan Grald finished just outside the top-10 in 11th place.

Patterson finished the race with at time of 46:13.2 to earn his third win in four races this year. Teammate Rogan Brown placed fourth (47:32.8) and Grav finished ninth to give the Catamounts three skiers in the top 10.

In the women's 15K freestyle mass start, Anja Gurber was the top UVM skier for the second day in a row. She finished third overall with a time of 44:02.60. Newcomers Stephanie Kirk and Linda Danvind-Malm earned ninth and 10th place, respectively. New Hampshire's Annika Taylor won the race with a time of 43:57.90.