INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Mens Soccer Committee announced the field of 57 teams for the 2005 NCAA Division III Mens Soccer Championship today.

Thirty-six conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the 2005 championship. Four teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final 17 berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams.

Seven two-team, first-round games will be conducted November 9 with the winners advancing to play seven teams which received first-round byes on Saturday, November 12. Nine sites will host four teams for first- and second-round competition Friday-Saturday or Saturday-Sunday, November 11-12 or 12-13. Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional sites November 18-19 or 19-20. Winners of the four sectionals will advance to the finals November 25-26. All games, except the finals, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. Macpherson Stadium at Bryan Park in Greensboro, North Carolina will be the site of this years finals.

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification:
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference: Medaille College
American Southwest Conference: Hardin-Simmons College
Capital Athletic Conference: York College (Pennsylvania)
Centennial Conference: Muhlenberg College
City University of New York Athletic Conference: City College of New York
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin: North Park University
Commonwealth Conference: Messiah College
Commonwealth Coast Conference: Roger Williams University
Empire 8 Athletic Conference: Nazareth College
Freedom Conference: DeSales University
Great Northeast Athletic Conference: Johnson & Wales University (Rhode Island)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference: Transylvania University
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Loras College
Lake Michigan Conference: Edgewood College
Liberty League: St. Lawrence University
Little East Conference: Western Connecticut State University
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference: Worcester State College
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association: Hope College
Midwest Conference: St. Norbert College
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: St. Johns University (Minnesota)
New England Small College Athletic Conference: Wesleyan University (Connecticut)
New England Womens and Mens Athletic Conference: Wheaton College (Massachusetts)
New Jersey Athletic Conference: The College of New Jersey
North Atlantic Conference: Mount Ida College
North Coast Athletic Conference: Ohio Wesleyan University
Northwest Conference: Whitworth College
Ohio Athletic Conference: John Carroll University
Old Dominion Athletic Conference: Virginia Wesleyan College
Pennsylvania Athletic Conference: Eastern University
Skyline Conference: Stevens Institute of Technology
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Webster University
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: University of Redlands
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference: Trinity University (Texas)
State University of New York Athletic Conference: Plattsburgh State University of New York
University Athletic Association: University of Rochester
USA South Athletic Conference: Greensboro College

Pool B Berths (4):
Maryville College (Tennessee)
University of California, Santa Cruz
University of Wisconsin, Whitewater
Washington and Jefferson College

Pool C Berths (17):
State University College at Brockport
Calvin College
Carnegie Mellon University
University of Chicago
Dominican University (Illinois)
Emory University
State University College at Fredonia
Gustavus Adolphus College
Keene State College
Macalester College
New Jersey City University
Salisbury University
Union College (New York)
Wartburg College
Western New England College
Wheaton College (Illinois)
Williams College

In last years finals, Messiah College defeated University of California, Santa Cruz 4-0 to win the mens soccer title.