Nov. 20, 2008

INDIANAPOLIS - The NCAA Division I Men’s Soccer Committee announced on Monday the bracket for the 2008 NCAA Division I Men’s Soccer Championship.

The teams will be vying for the right to compete at the 2008 NCAA Men’s College Cup December 12 and 14 in Frisco, Texas, at Pizza Hut Park. Southern Methodist University and FC Dallas will host the championship.

Wake Forest University, the defending national champion was awarded the No. 1 seed. The University of Maryland, College Park, the Atlantic Coast Conference automatic qualifier, earned the No. 2 seed. St. John’s University (New York) was named the No. 3 seed, while Michigan State University earned the No. 4 seed.

The remaining top 16 seeds in order are the University of Akron; Indiana University, Bloomington; Creighton University; University of South Florida; Loyola College (Maryland); University of Virginia; University of Michigan; University of Notre Dame; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; University of California, Irvine; University of California, Santa Barbara; and Dartmouth College. The top 16 teams receive a first-round bye.

Twenty-two conferences were awarded automatic bids for the 2008 tournament. The remaining 26 teams were selected at large.

The automatic qualifying conferences and their representatives are as follows: America East Conference, Boston University; Atlantic Coast, Maryland; Atlantic 10 Conference, University of Dayton; Atlantic Sun Conference, Jacksonville University; Big East Conference, South Florida; Big South Conference, Winthrop University; Big Ten Conference, Michigan State; Big West Conference, UC Irvine; Colonial Athletic Association, George Mason University; Conference USA, University of Tulsa; Horizon League, Loyola University (Illinois); Ivy Group, University of Pennsylvania; Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Fairfield University; Mid-American Conference, Akron; Missouri Valley Conference, Creighton; Mountain Pacific Sports Federation, University of Denver; Northeast Conference, Fairleigh Dickinson University, Metropolitan Campus; Pacific-10 Conference; University of California, Los Angeles; Patriot League, Colgate University; Southern Conference, University of North Carolina, Greensboro; The Summit League, University of Missouri, Kansas City; and West Coast Conference, University of San Francisco.

Three teams will be making their first appearance in the tournament: UC Irvine, Dayton and Drake University.

The ACC led all conferences with six teams in the tournament field, while the Big East and Big Ten had five.

Wake Forest won its first title ever at the 2007 Men’s College Cup, 2-1, against Ohio State University, at SAS Soccer Park in Cary, North Carolina.

All first-round games will be played either November 21 or 22, while all second-round action will take place November 25.

Listed below are the first-round sites and match-ups, as well as the site and opponent in the second round:

Williamsburg, Virginia
First round – Winthrop at William & Mary (Nov. 21-7 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at Wake Forest (Nov. 25-7 p.m.)

Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts
First round – Colgate at Boston College (Nov. 21-7 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at Dartmouth (Nov. 25-6 p.m.)

Durham, North Carolina
First round – UNC Greensboro at Duke (Nov. 22-1 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at Loyola (Md.) (Nov. 25-1 p.m.)

Amherst, Massachusetts
First round – Harvard at Massachusetts (Nov. 22-Noon)
Second round – Winner at South Fla. (Nov. 25-7:30 p.m.)

Oakland, Michigan
First round – Ohio St. at Oakland (Nov. 22-1 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at Akron (Nov. 25-7:30 p.m.)

Evanston, Illinois
First round – Loyola (Ill.) at Northwestern (Nov. 21-7 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at Notre Dame (Nov. 25-7 p.m.)

Louisville, Kentucky
First round – Jacksonville at Louisville (Nov. 21-7 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at North Carolina (Nov. 25-6 p.m.)

Chicago, Illinois
First round – Dayton at Ill.-Chicago (Nov. 21-7 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at Michigan St. (Nov. 25-1 p.m.)

Boston, Massachusetts
First round – Fairleigh Dickinson at Boston U. (Nov. 21-4 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at St. John’s (N.Y.) (Nov. 25-5 p.m.)

Los Angeles, California
First round – Cal Poly at UCLA (Nov. 21-7 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at UC Irvine (Nov. 25-7 p.m.)

Sacramento, California
First round – Denver at UC Davis (Nov. 22-1 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at Michigan (Nov. 25-2 p.m.)

Saint Louis, Missouri
First round – Drake at St. Louis (Nov. 21-7 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at Indiana (Nov. 25-7 p.m.)

Tulsa, Oklahoma
First round – UMKC at Tulsa (Nov. 21-7 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at Creighton (Nov. 25-7 p.m.)

Storrs, Connecticut
First round – Fairfield at Connecticut (Nov. 21-7 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at Virginia (Nov. 25-7 p.m.)

Berkeley, California
First round – San Francisco at California (Nov. 21-1:30 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at UC Santa Barb. (Nov. 25-7 p.m.)

Fairfax, Virginia
First round – Penn at George Mason (Nov. 21-7 p.m.)
Second round – Winner at Maryland (Nov. 25-7 p.m.)