Nov. 8, 2009

Courtesy of Ohio State

Park Ridge, Ill. - Ohio State captured the Big Ten regular-season Championship after defeating border-rival Michigan in front of a home crowd at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium on Saturday evening.  With the win, the Buckeyes earn their first-ever No. 1 seed and an automatic spot in the semifinals in the 2009 Big Ten Men's Soccer Tournament. The postseason event will be held on the Indiana University campus in Bloomington, Ind., with opening round matchups slated for Thursday, Nov. 12, semifinals contested on Friday, Nov. 13, and the championship game played on Sunday, Nov. 15. The tournament champion will earn the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Championships.

The Big Ten Championship is the Buckeyes' third overall and second in the past three seasons. The Scarlet and Gray complete the conference slate with a 4-2 ledger, leaping over Penn State in the Big Ten standings by virtue of its 1-0 victory over Michigan on Saturday to clinch the title outright.

At 3-2-1 in the conference, Penn State and Northwestern finished in a tie for second place, earning No. 2 and No. 3 seeds, respectively in the conference tournament. NU will face defending Big Ten champion and sixth-seeded Michigan State in the tournament opener at 10 a.m. ET on Thursday. The contest will mark the second meeting between the two teams in as many weeks with the last matchup resulting in a 1-0 decision in favor of the Wildcats on Saturday.

Tournament host Indiana occupies the No. 4 seed in the bracket and will face No. 5-seeded Wisconsin at 12:30 p.m. ET in Thursday's second quarterfinal matchup. The Hoosiers, who denied Penn State sole possession of the conference crown with a 2-1 triumph on Friday evening, proved victorious in their first meeting against the Badgers on Sept. 25.

Quarterfinal action will conclude with second-seeded Penn State taking on No. 7 seed Michigan at 3 p.m. ET on Thursday. The two teams last faced off on the opening weekend of Big Ten play with the Nittany Lions coming away with a 2-0 victory.

The top-seeded Ohio State Buckeyes will await the winner of the 4/5 matchup between Indiana and Wisconsin in Friday's first semifinal at 2 p.m. ET. The second semifinal will pit the winner of Northwestern-Michigan State and Penn State-Michigan at approximately 4:30 p.m. ET. The tournament championship game will be held at 2 p.m. ET on Sunday, Nov. 15.

For the third-straight season, the semifinals and final will be televised live by the Big Ten Network. Tickets will be sold as day passes and are available for purchase the day of the game for $8 per day for adults and $5 for students and children.