Nov. 11, 2010

Courtesy of Wisconsin Athletics

All five Wisconsin shooters scored in a penalty kick shootout to advance the Badgers to the semifinal round of the 2010 Big Ten Tournament, knocking off No. 2 seed Ohio State at Penn State's Jeffrey Field Thursday afternoon.

Junior Austin Spohn (Cincinnati, Ohio), freshman Joey Tennyson (Milwaukee, Wis.), freshman Ralph Noordink (Noorwijk, The Netherlands), freshman Chris Prince (Naperville, Ill.) and junior Arnel Zahirovic (Melbourne, Australia) scored for UW in the shootout with Zahirovic sealing the victory as the fifth shooter.

Chris Hegngi, Sam Scales and Matt Gold traded goals with Spohn, Tennyson and Noordink to open the shootout. OSUs fourth shooter, Austin McAnena missed, and Prince scored to put UW up 4-3 with two shooters remaining.

Konrad Warzycha kept the Buckeyes alive with a goal, but Zahirovic sealed the 5-4 shootout win to advance the seventh-seeded Badgers to a Big Ten semifinal date with Michigan (12-4-3) at noon (CT) Friday, in a match that will air live on the Big Ten Network.

The last time the Badgers advanced past the opening round of the Big Ten tournament was in 2003, when No. 5 seed UW knocked off No. 4 seed Ohio State, 2-0, in Bloomington, Ind. With todays result, officially recorded as a double-overtime tie, Wisconsin is 0-6-2 in its last eight Big Ten tournament games.

Wisconsin (4-12-3) battled the defending Big Ten champion Buckeyes to its ninth overtime game of the season despite being outshot , 21-5, during regulation. In 110 minutes, Ohio State (10-5-3) outshot the Badgers, 30-5, including an 11-1 advantage in shots on goal. The Buckeyes 30 shots marked the most Wisconsin has allowed this season.

Freshman goalkeeper Max Jentsch (Hartland, Wis.) made a career-high 11 saves during regulation for the Badgers, while Matt Lampson made one stop for the Buckeyes. The 110 minutes of scoreless play extended Jentschs current shutout streak to 358:17, and he is now 3-5-1 with four shutouts on the season.

The penalty kick shootout marked the second for Wisconsin in the Big Ten postseason in the last three years. In 2008, the seventh-seeded Badgers battled No. 2 seed and 10th-ranked Michigan to a scoreless double-overtime draw in the opening round, but the Wolverines advanced on penalty kicks, 4-3.

Wisconsin will again face No. 3 seed Michigan, which overcame a 1-0 deficit to defeat No. 6 seed Michigan State, 2-1, in the first game of the tournament Thursday. The final opening-round game features No. 4 seed Penn State and No. 5 seed Northwestern, and the winner will take on No. 1 seed Indiana in Fridays second semifinal game at 2:30 p.m. (CT).

The championship game is slated for 11 a.m. (CT) Sunday. Both the semifinal games and the championship game will air live on the Big Ten Network.