Nov. 15, 2010

Brackets: PDF | Interactive

NCAA Release

- The NCAA Division I Men's Soccer Committee announced today the bracket for the 2010 NCAA Division I Men's Soccer Championship.

The teams will be vying for the right to compete at the 2010 NCAA Men's College Cup December 10 and 12 in Santa Barbara, California, at Meredith Field at Harder Stadium. The University of California, Santa Barbara, will host the championship for the first time.

The University of Louisville, who finished the season 16-0-3, was awarded the No. 1 seed. The University of Maryland, College Park, the Atlantic Coast Conference automatic qualifier, earned the No. 2 seed. The University of Akron was named the No. 3 seed, while University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, earned the No. 4 seed.

The remaining top 16 seeds in order are Southern Methodist University; University of California, Berkley; University of South Carolina, Columbia; University of California, Los Angeles; University of Notre Dame; University of Michigan; University of Connecticut; College of William and Mary; Butler University; Indiana University, Bloomington; Pennsylvania State University; and The Ohio State University. The top 16 teams receive a first-round bye.

Twenty-two conferences were awarded automatic bids for the 2010 tournament. The remaining 26 teams were selected at large.

The automatic qualifying conferences and their representatives are as follows: America East Conference, University of Maryland, Baltimore County; Atlantic Coast, Maryland; Atlantic 10 Conference, Xavier University; Atlantic Sun Conference, East Tennessee State University; Big East Conference, Louisville; Big South Conference, Coastal Carolina University; Big Ten Conference, Michigan; Big West Conference, UC Santa Barbara; Colonial Athletic Association, William and Mary; Conference USA, South Carolina; Horizon League, Butler; Ivy Group, Princeton University; Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, St. Peter's College; Missouri Valley Conference, Bradley University; Mountain Pacific Sports Federation, California State University, Sacramento; Northeast Conference, Monmouth University; Pacific-10 Conference; California; Patriot League, Bucknell University; Southern Conference, University of North Carolina at Greensboro; The Summit League, Oakland University; and West Coast Conference, Santa Clara University.

Two teams will be making their first appearance in the tournament: East Tennessee State and Xavier.

The Big East led all conferences with seven teams in the tournament field, while the ACC and Big Ten had five.

Virginia won its sixth title in school history at the 2009 Men's College Cup by defeating Akron (0-0, 2ot, pk) at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, North Carolina.
All first-round games will be played Thursday, November 18, while all second-round action will take place Sunday, November 21.

Listed below are the first-round sites and match-ups, as well as the site and opponent in the second round:

Charleston, South Carolina
First round - East Tennessee State at College of Charleston
Second round - Winner at No. 1 Louisville

Providence, Rhode Island
First round - St. Peter's at Providence
Second round - Winner at No. 16 Ohio State

West Long Branch, New Jersey
First round - Dartmouth at Monmouth
Second round - Winner at No. 9 Notre Dame

Sacramento, California
First round - Santa Clara at Sacramento State
Second round - Winner at No. 8 UCLA

Omaha, Nebraska
First round - New Mexico at Creighton
Second round - Winner at No. 5 SMU

Princeton, New Jersey

First round - UMBC at Princeton
Second round - Winner at No. 12 William and Mary

East Lansing, Michigan

First round - Oakland at Michigan State
Second round - Winner at No. 13 Butler

Washington, DC

First round - UNC Greensboro at Georgetown
Second round - Winner at No. 4 North Carolina

Morgantown, West Virginia
First round - Xavier at West Virginia
Second round - Winner at No. 3 Akron

Tulsa, Oklahoma

First round - Bradley at Tulsa
Second round - Winner at No. 14 Indiana

Providence, Rhode Island
First round - Boston College at Brown
Second round - Winner at No. 11 Connecticut

Santa Barbara, California
First round - Denver at UC Santa Barbara
Second round - Winner at No. 6 California

Durham, North Carolina
First round - Coastal Carolina at Duke
Second round - Winner at No. 7 South Carolina

Orlando, Florida
First round - South Florida at UCF
Second round - Winner at No. 10 Michigan

Charlottesville, Virginia
First round - Old Dominion at Virginia
Second round - Winner at No. 15 Penn State

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

First round - Bucknell at Pennsylvania
Second round - Winner at No. 2 Maryland

A complete bracket, which includes records and game times, follows. For more information about NCAA Championships, log on to