Monmouth is the most-represented team on the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy Watch List for the 2011 season. The Hawks placed three seniors among the 42 players on the list: defenders RJ Allen and Anthony Vasquez and midfielder Max Hamilton.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. The recipients are selected by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Five other schools each placed two players on the list: Connecticut, Creighton, Duke, Fordham and SMU. Louisville, the No. 1 team in the NSCAA preseason rankings, had one player on the list: senior defender Austin Berry. Of the 42 players, five were semifinalists for the award in 2010: Tony Cascio (Connecticut), Ethan Finlay (Creighton), Antoine Hoppenot (Princeton), Arthur Ivo (SMU) and Andrew Wenger (Duke).

A total of 35 different schools and seven countries are represented on the list, including players from the United States, Australia, Brazil, England, Ghana, New Zealand and Sweden.

Voting for the MAC Hermann Trophy is conducted in late November, when a field of 15 semifinalists is reduced to three finalists. Those three will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 6, 2012, where a news conference will be held to announce the winner, followed by a banquet to honor the three finalists.


2011 Men's MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List
Pos. Name Class School Hometown
D RJ Allen Sr. Monmouth Old Bridge, N.J.
M Carlos Alvarez Sr. Connecticut Los Angeles, Calif.
M Gideon Asante So. Old Dominion Sunyani, Ghana
K James Belshaw Jr. Duke Nottingham, England
D Austin Berry Sr. Louisville Cincinnati, Ohio
D Thomas Brandt Sr. Pennsylvania Palmyra, Pa.
M Andrew Bulls Sr. UMBC Baltimore, Md.
F Brendan Burgdorf Jr. Bucknell Westfield, N.J.
M Michael Bustamante Sr. Boston University Chelsea, Mass.
M Cody Calafiore Jr. Temple Howell, N.J.
F Tony Cascio Sr. Connecticut Gilbert, Ariz.
F Juan Castillo So. SMU Kingwood, Texas
D Marcello Castro Jr. Sacred Heart Parana, Brazil
D Justin Chavez Sr. Tulsa Edmond, Okla.
M Warren Creavalle Sr. Central Florida Acworth, Ga.
D Roger Downes Sr. Loyola Marymount San Clemente, Calif.
F Ethan Finlay Sr. Creighton Marshfield, Wis.
D Shaun Foster So. Hofstra Southport, England
D Raymon Gaddis Sr. West Virginia Indianapolis, Ind.
F Sam Garza Jr. UC Santa Barbara Highland Village, Texas
F Bryan Gaul Sr. Bradley Naperville, Ill.
M Max Hamilton Sr. Monmouth Medford, N.J.
F Antoine Hoppenot Sr. Princeton Princeton, N.J.
D Sacir Hot Jr. Boston College Fair Lawn, N.J.
M Arthur Ivo Sr. SMU Braganca Paulista, Brazil
K Matt Lampson Jr. Ohio State Hilliard, Ohio
M Enzo Martinez Jr. North Carolina Rock Hill, S.C.
K Ryan Meara Sr. Fordham Crestwood, N.Y.
F Karo Okiomah Sr. High Point Austin, Texas
D Tyler Polak So. Creighton Lincoln, Neb.
M Josey Portillo Sr. Florida Gulf Coast Metairie, La.
M Tim Richardson Sr. Fordham Palmerston North, New Zealand
D Charles Rodriguez Sr. Charlotte Franklin, Tenn.
M Kelyn Rowe So. UCLA Federal Way, Wash.
D Kevin Strunk Sr. Lehigh Downingtown, Pa.
F Chris Thomas Jr. Elon Snellville, Ga.
F Casey Townsend Sr. Maryland Traverse City, Mich.
D Anthony Vasquez Sr. Monmouth Belford, N.J.
F Patrick Wallen Jr. San Diego Vasteras, Sweden
D Andrew Wenger Jr. Duke Lititz, Pa.
F Chris Wheeler Jr. Mount St. Mary's Newcastle, Australia
F Gyasi Zardes So. CSU-Bakersfield Hawthorne, Calif.