soccer-men-d3 flag | November 14, 2013

Ohio Wesleyan heads field for 2013 DIII Men's Soccer Championship

Interactive Bracket Printable Bracket Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Men’s Soccer Committee on Monday announced the field of 61 teams for the 2013 NCAA Division III Men’s Soccer Championship, which begins Thursday and concludes with the national championship Dec. 7.

Forty-one conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the championship. One team was selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, as well as members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final 19 berths were reserved for Pool C, which includes institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that did not win their conference championship, and any remaining Pool B teams.

All tournament games leading up to the national semifinals will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. Two first-round games will be conducted Nov. 14 with the winners advancing to play Nov. 16 against two teams that earned first-round byes. Nineteen sites will host four teams for first- and second-round competition Nov. 16-17. Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional sites Nov. 22-24. Winners of the four sectionals will advance to the national semifinals, which take place at Toyota Field in San Antonio on Dec. 6, with Trinity University (Texas) and the San Antonio Sports Foundation serving as co-hosts. The national championship game will be played Dec. 7.

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification:
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference -- Penn State-Behrend
American Southwest Conference -- Hardin-Simmons
Capital Athletic Conference -- York (Pa.)
Centennial Conference -- Franklin & Marshall
City University of New York Athletic Conference -- Baruch
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin -- Wheaton (Ill.)
Colonial States Athletic Conference -- Centenary (N.J.)
Commonwealth Conference -- Lycoming
Commonwealth Coast Conference -- Western New England
Empire 8 -- Stevens Institute of Technology
Freedom Conference -- King’s (Pa.)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference -- Johnson & Wales (R.I.)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference -- Rose-Hulman
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Loras
Landmark Conference -- Susquehanna
Liberty League -- St. Lawrence
Little East Conference -- Eastern Connecticut State
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference -- Bridgewater State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association -- Hope
Midwest Conference -- Lake Forest
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Carleton
New England Collegiate Conference -- Elms
New England Small College Athletic Conference -- Amherst
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference -- Wheaton (Mass.)
New Jersey Athletic Conference -- Rutgers-Camden
North Atlantic Conference -- Thomas (Maine)
North Coast Athletic Conference -- Ohio Wesleyan
North Eastern Athletic Conference -- SUNY Institute of Technology
Northern Athletics Conference -- Dominican (Ill.)
Northwest Conference -- Puget Sound
Ohio Athletic Conference -- Ohio Northern
Old Dominion Athletic Conference -- Virginia Wesleyan
President’s Athletic Conference -- Thomas More
Skyline Conference -- Mount St. Mary’s
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Westminster (Mo.)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Cal Lutheran
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference -- Trinity (Texas)
State University of New York Athletic Conference -- Plattsburgh State
University Athletic Association -- Rochester (N.Y.)
Upper Midwest Athletic Association -- St. Scholastica
USA South Athletic Conference -- Greensboro

Pool B Berth:

Pool C Berths:
Carnegie Mellon
Gustavus Adolphus
Montclair State
Roger Williams

The Division III women’s soccer national semifinals and championship games also will be held at Toyota Field at 2:30 p.m. on Dec. 7.