soccer-men-d1 flag

Wake Forest Athletics | January 14, 2016

Wake Forest's Harrison goes No. 1 in MLS SuperDraft

  Jack Harrison is the first No. 1 overall draft pick in Wake Foret men's soccer history.

BALTIMORE -- Wake Forest's Jack Harrison was selected No. 1 overall by the Chicago Fire in the MLS SuperDraft on Thursday. Following the Fire's pick, the organization later traded Harrison to New York City FC.

With Harrison being selected No. 1 overall, it marks the first time in men's soccer program history Wake Forest has had a player drafted No. 1 overall. Prior to Harrison's top-overall selection, Wake Forest's highest draft pick was Sam Cronin in the 2009 MLS SuperDraft, when he was picked second overall by Toronto FC. Harrison is also the second No. 1 selection in Wake Forest University athletics history. He joins Tim Duncan as the only two players taken with the top-overall pick, as Duncan was taken No. 1 by the San Antonio Spurs in the 1997 NBA Draft.

"This has been a great day to cap off a great year for Wake Forest soccer," said head coach Bobby Muuss about the two players getting drafted. "I think it's a testament to not only these two young men, but to the team's accomplishments this year. We're excited to see what next season brings for the program, but this has definitely been one for the ages."

Harrison is also the ninth player out of Wake Forest to be selected in the top 10. Other top-10 draft picks out of Wake Forest are listed below. Overall, the Demon Deacons have now had 12 players picked in the first round of the MLS SuperDraft since Wake Forest's initial first-round pick when Michael Parkhurst was drafted ninth overall by the New England Revolution in the 2005 SuperDraft.

NYCFC tried to put a homegrown player claim on Harrison prior to the SuperDraft, but the claim was rejected by MLS.

"What an incredible year for the young man with all of the accolades and his great season," Muuss said of Harrison. "From being the ACC Offensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year and an All-American to now being the first-ever Wake Forest players taken No. 1 overall in the draft, it's a statement because of how much tradition we've had and we wish him the very best of luck moving forward."

Below is a summary of the first two rounds of the MLS Draft. The third and fourth rounds will be completed on Jan. 19 via conference call.

Pick Team Player Pos College
1 Chicago Fire (traded to NYCFC) Jack Harrison M Wake Forest
2 Philadelphia Union Joshua Yaro D Georgetown
3 Philadelphia Union Keegan Rosenberry D Georgetown
4 Chicago Fire Brandon Vincent D Stanford
5 Real Salt Lake Omar Holness F North Carolina
6 Philadelphia Union Fabian Herbers M Creighton
7 Orlando City SC Richmond Laryea M Akron
8 San Jose Earthquakes Andrew Tarbell G Clemson
9 Toronto FC Tsubasa Endoh M Maryland
10 New England Revolution Jordan McCrary D North Carolina
11 D.C. United Julian Buescher D Syracuse
12 Chicago Fire Jonathan Campbell D North Carolina
13 Orlando City SC Hadji Barry F Central Florida
14 Montreal Impact Kyle Fisher D Clemson
15 Colorado Rapids Emmanuel Appiah M Cincinnati
16 Vancouver Whitecaps FC Cole Seiler D Georgetown
17 FC Dallas Ryan Herman G Washington
18 New York Red Bulls Justin Bilyeu D SIU-Edwardsville
19 Columbus Crew SC Rodrigo Saravia M FGCU
20 Portland Timbers FC Ben Polk F Syracuse
Round 2        
Pick Team Player Pos College
21 Columbus Crew SC Chase Minter M Cal Poly
22 Chicago Fire Alex Morrell F North Florida
23 Philadelphia Union Taylor Washington D George Mason
24 Montreal Impact Michael Salazar F UC Riverside
25 Real Salt Lake Max Lachowecki D Notre Dame
26 Houston Dynamo Ivan Magalhaes D Maryland
27 Seattle Sounders FC Tony Alfaro D Cal State Dominguez Hills
28 San Jose Earthquakes Patrick Hodan M Notre Dame
29 Vancouver Whitecaps FC Christopher Hellmann F Lynn
30 New England Revolution Michael Gamble F Wake Forest
31 Columbus Crew SC Kyle Parker F Charlotte
32 D.C. United Paul Clowes M Clemson
33 FC Dallas Timo Pitter M Creighton
34 Montreal Impact Eric Verso M Stanford
35 Seattle Sounders FC Zach Mathers M Duke
36 Vancouver Whitecaps FC Thomas Sanner F Princeton
37 Colorado Rapids Dennis Castillo D VCU
38 New York Red Bulls Zach Carroll D Michigan State
39 Montreal Impact Keegan Smith F San Diego
40 Portland Timbers FC Neco Brett M Robert Morris
41 Columbus Crew SC Marshall Hollingsworth F Wheaton (Ill.)

USWNT's NCAA stars at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup

20 former NCAA athletes will play for the United States women's national soccer team (USWNT) in the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

LSU stands atop final poll after winning the 2023 Men's College World Series

LSU closes the season exactly where it started: ranked atop the D1Baseball Top 25. The Tigers captured their seventh national title, and their first since 2009, to re-ascend to No. 1 in the rankings.

Omaha dreams of moments like this, where Rhett Lowder and Paul Skenes could go head-to-head in MCWS's Mike Lopresti previews the final game of the Wake Forest vs. LSU series with a spot in the 2023 Men's College World Series championship series on the line.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners