soccer-men-d3 flag | November 7, 2016

Division III Men's Soccer Championship field announced

DIII Men's Soccer: 2016 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS --- The NCAA Division III Men’s Soccer Committee announced the field of 62 teams for the 2016 NCAA Division III Men’s Soccer Championship, which begins Friday and concludes with the national championship December 3.

Forty-two conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the championship. One team was selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, as well as members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final 19 berths were reserved for Pool C, which includes institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that did not win their conference championship, and any remaining Pool B teams.

Division III Men's Soccer Championship: Interactive Bracket | Printable Bracket

All tournament games leading up to the national semifinals will be played on the campuses of the competing institutions. Two sites will host three teams for first- and second- round competition November 11 and 12 or 12 and 13. Fourteen sites will host four teams for first-and second-round competition November 11 and 12 or 12 and 13.

Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional sites November 18 and 19 or 19 and 20. Winners of the four sectionals will advance to the national semifinals, which take place December 2 at Kerr Stadium in Salem, Virginia, with Roanoke College, the Old Dominion Athletic Conference and the City of Salem serving as co-hosts. The national championship game will be played December 3. The Division III women’s soccer national semifinals and championship games will also be held at Kerr Stadium December 2 and 3.

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification (42):

Conference Team
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Penn State-Behrend
American Southwest Conference Texas-Dallas
Capital Athletic Conference Christopher Newport
Centennial Conference Haverford
City University of New York Athletic Conference Lehman
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Carthage
Colonial States Athletic Conference Centenary (New Jersey)
Commonwealth Coast Conference Western New England
Empire 8 St. John Fisher
Great Northeast Athletic Conference St. Joseph's (ME)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Hanover
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Luther
Landmark Conference Scranton
Liberty League Vassar
Little East Conference Massachusetts Boston
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference Worcester State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Calvin
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Messiah
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Eastern
Midwest Conference St. Norbert
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference St. Thomas (Minnesota)
New England Collegiate Conference Daniel Webster
New England Small College Athletic Conference Amherst
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference Springfield
New Jersey Athletic Conference Montclair State
North Atlantic Conference New England College
North Coast Athletic Conference Kenyon
North Eastern Athletic Conference Morrisville State
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Benedictine (Illinois)
Northwest Conference Whitworth
Ohio Athletic Conference John Carroll
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Lynchburg
Presidents’ Athletic Conference Geneva
Skyline Conference Merchant Marine
Southern Athletic Association Centre
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Redlands
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity (Texas)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Westminster (Missouri)
State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Cortland
University Athletic Association Chicago
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference St. Scholastica
USA South Athletic Conference Maryville (Tennessee)

Pool B Berths (1):


Pool C Berths (19):

  • Babson
  • Brandeis
  • Carnegie Mellon
  • Chapman
  • DePauw
  • Elizabethtown
  • Franklin & Marshall
  • Kean
  • Ohio Northern
  • Ohio Wesleyan
  • Rowan
  • Rutgers-Newark
  • St. Lawrence
  • SUNY Oneonta
  • Tufts
  • Dubuque
  • Rochester (New York)
  • Washington and Lee
  • Washington U. in St. Louis


Amherst is the defending national champion, having defeated Loras 2-1 in last year’s championship game.

Creighton's Duncan McGuire and Duke's Michelle Cooper named 2022 Mac Hermann winners

The 2022 Mac Hermann Trophy winners are Creighton's Duncan McGuire and Duke's Michelle Cooper.

How college soccer overtime works

There are a few differences between OT rules in college soccer and extra time rules in the pro game — here's how it works.

2022 men’s MAC Hermann Trophy finalists announced

United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) announced the men’s finalists for the 2022 MAC Hermann Trophy, based on voting by NCAA Division I men’s soccer coaches, on Thursday.