soccer-men-d1 flag

Natalie Bode | | November 15, 2021

Tracking conference tournament schedules, auto bids for the 2021 NCAA men's soccer championship

DI men's soccer: 2021 selection show

The 2021 NCAA Division I men’s soccer tournament continues to inch closer and with all of the conference tournaments all wrapped up, we have 23 teams booked for the championship field. 

Out of 48 teams, 23 receive automatic qualification by winning a conference tournament, or, in the case of the Ivy League, Pac-12 and West Coast conferences, three automatic bids will be awarded to the regular-season champions. 

At-large bids are chosen by the NCAA Division I Men’s Soccer Committee. The complete 48-team field will be released at 1 p.m. ET on Monday, Nov. 15, during the selection show on

BEST GOALS SO FAR: 9 of the best goals scored this season

Tap or click on each conference below to access full brackets and more information about each postseason tournament. As bids are claimed, we will update the table below.

ACC Cary, North Carolina Nov. 7-14 Notre Dame
America East Highest seed hosts Nov. 6-13/14 Vermont
American Athletic Home site of No. 1 seed Nov. 10-14 Tulsa
Atlantic 10 Highest seed hosts Nov. 6-14 Saint Louis
Atlantic Sun Highest seed hosts Nov. 5-13 Lipscomb
Big East Campus sites, then No. 1 seed Nov. 6-14 Georgetown
Big South Highest seed hosts Nov. 7-14 Campbell
Big Ten Highest seed hosts Nov. 7-14 Penn State
Big West Campus sites Nov. 4-13 UC Santa Barbara
Colonial Harrisonburg, Virginia Nov. 11-14 Hofstra
Conference USA Charlotte, NC  Nov. 10-14 Kentucky 
Horizon Chicago, Illinois Nov. 7-13 Oakland
Ivy N/A N/A Princeton
MAAC Highest seed hosts Nov. 7-14 Marist
Mid-American Highest seed hosts Nov. 10-14 Northern Illinois
Missouri Valley Highest seed hosts Nov. 9-14 Missouri State
Northeast Highest seed hosts Nov. 12-14 LIU
Pac-12 N/A N/A Oregon State
Patriot Highest seed hosts Nov. 9-13 Loyola (MD)
Southern Highest seed hosts Nov. 1-14 Mercer
Summit Macomb, Illinois Nov. 11-13 Denver
WCC N/A N/A Santa Clara
WAC Phoenix, Arizona Nov. 12-14 Seattle

Following the bracket reveal on Nov. 15, the 2021 NCAA Division I Men's Soccer Championship begins on Thursday, Nov. 18. From there, 47 matches will play out over 24 days to crown a champion, culminating with the College Cup final in Cary, North Carolina. Here's a look at who won each of the previous times the tournament concluded in Cary. 

2020 Marshall (13-2-3) Chris Grassie 1-0 (OT) Indiana
2019 Georgetown (20-1-3) Brian Wiese 3-3 (2ot, pk) Virginia
2014 Virginia (14-6-3) George Gelnovatch 0-0 (2OT,PK) UCLA
2009 Virginia (19-3-3) George Gelnovatch 0-0 (2OT, PK) Akron
2007 Wake Forest (22-2-2) Jay Vidovich 2-1 Ohio State
2005 Maryland (20-4-1) Sasho Cirovski 1-0 New Mexico

Marshall men, North Carolina women are new No. 1 teams in United Soccer Coaches polls in more top-spot shake-up

We have a pair of new No. 1 teams in the weekly United Soccer Coaches Poll rankings. The Marshall men and North Carolina women moved to the top after upset losses from last week's No. 1 teams.

West Virginia and Akron break into Week 4's men's soccer Power 5 rankings

West Virginia and Akron men's soccer break into Andrew McDevitt's Week 4's Power 5 rankings.

5 pleasantly surprising starts to the DII men's soccer season

While defending champion Franklin Pierce maintains the top spot in the DII men's soccer top 25, there are a few teams making some unexpected noise to start the season.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners