soccer-men-d1 flag

Missouri Athletic Club | December 8, 2022

2022 men's soccer MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalists announced

Watch all 11 goals from the quarterfinals of the 2022 men's soccer tournament

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (Dec. 7, 2022) – United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) have announced the 15 men’s semifinalists for the 2022 MAC Hermann Trophy, based on voting by NCAA Division I men’s soccer coaches.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer and has been awarded annually since 1967. Most recently, Jaelin Howell (Florida State) and Dante Polvara (Georgetown) received the award for outstanding intercollegiate performances last year.

This year's list includes five semifinalists who graced the watch list back in August: University of Kentucky senior defender Luis Grassow; Lipscomb GR-5 defender Noah Gulden; University of Vermont GR-5 midfielder Alex Nagy; Duke junior midfielder Peter Stroud and Florida International junior forward Stephen Afrifa.

FOLLOW: Every live update from the men's soccer championship 

The 2022 MAC Hermann Trophy banquet will be held at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Jan. 6, 2023, to formally announce this year’s winners.

Voting for the 2022 men’s finalists (3) is now open online. Voting continues through Dec. 13. The men’s finalists will be released on for Dec. 14 and the women's finalists will be released on Dec. 8. For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy, visit


Stephen Afrifa Florida International Sr. F Toronto, Ont.
Knut Ahlander SMU GR-5 M Notteroy, Norway
Eythor Bjorgolfsson Kentucky Sr. F Jessheinm, Norway
Moise Bombito New Hampshire Jr. D Montreal, Que.
Luis Grassow Kentucky Sr. D Munich, Germany
Noah Gulden Lipscomb GR-5. D Drammen, Norway
Keegan Hughes Stanford Sr. D Heath, Ohio
Levonte Johnson Syracuse Sr. F Brampton, Ont.
Duncan McGuire Creighton Jr. F Omaha, Neb.
Shakur Mohammed Duke So. M Kumasi, Ghana
Alex Nagy Vermont GR-5 M Bow, N.H.
JC Ngando University of North Carolina-Greensboro So. M Paris, France
Ilijah Paul University of Washington So. F Gilbert, Ariz.
Peter Stroud Duke Jr. M Chester, N.J.
Milo Yosef Marshall Sr. F Aachen, Germany

Creighton's Duncan McGuire and Duke's Michelle Cooper named 2022 Mac Hermann winners

The 2022 Mac Hermann Trophy winners are Creighton's Duncan McGuire and Duke's Michelle Cooper.

How college soccer overtime works

There are a few differences between OT rules in college soccer and extra time rules in the pro game — here's how it works.

2022 men’s MAC Hermann Trophy finalists announced

United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) announced the men’s finalists for the 2022 MAC Hermann Trophy, based on voting by NCAA Division I men’s soccer coaches, on Thursday.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners