Championship Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS --- The NCAA Division II Women's Soccer Committee today announced the field of 32 teams for the 2005 NCAA Division II Women's Soccer Championship. Each of the eight regions received four championship berths. No automatic berths are awarded for the Division II championship.

For first- and second-round competition, teams will be paired in their respective regions with the No. 1 seed playing the No. 4 seed; and the No. 2 seed playing the No. 3 seed Friday, November 11. The winners of each game will advance to play one another Sunday, November 13. The Far West region will play first round games on Thursday, November 10 and its second round game on Saturday, November 12. All games will be played on the campus of a participating institution. The winner in each region will advance to the quarterfinals to be played either Saturday, November 19, or Sunday, November 20. The semifinals and championship games will be played December 1 and 3 at Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls, Texas.

The first-round sites and team matchups are:

Northeast Region
West Chester University of Pennsylvania* (18-1-2) vs. Adelphi University (10-4-2) and University of New Haven (16-3-1) vs. C.W. Post Campus/Long Island University (14-3-2).

New England Region
Franklin Pierce College* (16-1-2) vs. Merrimack College (14-5-1) and Assumption College (14-3-4) vs. University of Massachusetts at Lowell (12-6-1).

Central Region
University of Nebraska at Omaha* (15-2) vs. University of North Dakota (14-4-1) and Minnesota State University Mankato (10-8-1) vs. University of South Dakota (14-5-1).

Great Lakes Region
Northern Kentucky University* (18-2) vs. Wheeling Jesuit University (20-3) and Grand Valley State University (17-2) vs. Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (17-5).

Southeast Region
Tusculum College* (12-5-2) vs. Catawba College (15-3-1) and Clayton State University (15-2-2) vs. Carson-Newman College (14-4).

South Region
University of Tampa (13-1-2) vs. Barry University (13-2-2) and University of West Florida* (17-1-2) vs. Lincoln Memorial University (16-2-1).

Midwest Region
Metropolitan State College of Denver* (20-0) vs. University of the Incarnate Word (14-3-3) and Regis University (Colorado) (17-5) vs. University of Central Oklahoma (16-3-1).

Far West Region
Seattle Pacific University* (17-0-3) vs. California State University, Chico (14-3-3) and University of California, San Diego (17-3) vs. California State University, Dominguez Hills (14-6-2).
Games will be played November 10 and November 12.

Note: * Denotes host institution.

In the 2004 NCAA Division II Women's Soccer national championship game Metropolitan State College of Denver made their first NCAA appearance and faced Adelphi University who returned to the national spot light after making their last appearance in 1992. Metro State defeated Adelphi 3-2 with 39 seconds remaining in regulation, to win the championship.

-- Courtesy NCAA