Championship Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Womens Soccer Committee announced the field of 60 teams for the 2005 NCAA Division III Womens Soccer Championship.

Thirty-seven conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the 2005 championship. Four teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final nineteen berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams.

Four teams will receive first-round byes. Four two-team first-round matches will be played to determine the teams that advance to the second round to play the four teams that received a first-round bye. Twelve four-team sites will conduct first- and second-round play on the first weekend of the championship, November 11-12 or 12-13. Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional sites November 18-19 or 19-20. Winners of the four sectionals will advance to the semifinals November 25-26. All games, except the semifinals and final, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. Macpherson Stadium at Bryan Park in Greensboro, North Carolina will be the site of this years finals.

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification:
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference - Frostburg State
American Southwest Conference - Hardin-Simmons
Atlantic Womens Colleges Conference - Notre Dame (Maryland)
Capital Athletic Conference - Catholic
Centennial Conference - Johns Hopkins
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin - Wheaton (Illinois)
Commonwealth Conference - Messiah
Commonwealth Coast Conference - Endicott
Empire 8 - Ithaca
Freedom Conference - Wilkes
Great Northeast Athletic Conference - Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island)
Heartland College Athletic Conference - Mount St. Joseph
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Loras
Lake Michigan Conference - Lakeland
Liberty League - Union (New York)
Little East Conference - Eastern Connecticut State
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference - Worcester State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association - Calvin
Midwest Conference - Grinnell
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Macalester
New England Small College Athletic Conference - Bates
New England Womens and Mens Athletic Conference - Springfield
New Jersey Athletic Conference - The College of New Jersey
North Atlantic Conference - Castleton State
North Coast Athletic Conference - Ohio Wesleyan
Northwest Conference - Puget Sound
Ohio Athletic Conference - Otterbein
Old Dominion Athletic Conference - Lynchburg
Pennsylvania Athletic Conference - Arcadia
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Webster
Skyline Conference - Stevens Institute of Technology
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Pomona-Pitzer
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference - DePauw
State University of New York Athletic Conference - Oneonta State
University Athletic Association - Rochester
USA South Athletic Conference - Christopher Newport
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Association - Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Pool B Berths (4):
Maryville (Tennessee)
Westminster (Pennsylvania)

Pool C Berths (19):
Augustana (Illinois)
Illinois Wesleyan
Sewanee (University of the South)
Trinity (Texas)
Virginia Wesleyan
Washington and Lee
Western Connecticut State
Wheaton (Massachusetts)
William Smith

In last years finals, Wheaton (Illinois) defeated Puget Sound on penalty kicks 5-4, after playing to a 1-1 tie through two overtimes, to win the championship.

-- Courtesy