Aug. 14, 2009

Courtesy of the Missouri Athletic Club

Returning 2008 finalist Casey Nogueira (North Carolina/Raleigh, N.C.) and 2007 finalist Lauren Cheney (UCLA/Indianapolis) highlight 45 of the best women's Division I intercollegiate soccer players that comprise the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List for 2009.

Nogueira scored two goals to lead the Tar Heels to their 19th NCAA title last December, while Cheney was one of three finalists for the award in 2007 after leading UCLA to an outstanding season. Both have teammates as company on the Watch List, as North Carolina and UCLA are two of six teams to place three players on the List. The other four are 2008 finalist Notre Dame, Penn State, Portland and Stanford. Four other schools (Boston College, Florida State, Rutgers and Texas A&M.

Considered the highest individual honor in intercollegiate soccer, the recipients of the MAC's Hermann Trophy are selected by Division I head coaches who are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. A list of 15 semifinalists is selected by a coaches committee in November, with three finalists announced in early December. They will invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo., for a news conference on Jan. 8, 2010, where the winner will be announced, with a presentation banquet following.

2009 Women's Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Watch List

Name Pos. Yr. School Hometown
Kristin Arnold K Jr. Texas A&M Centennial, Colo.
Lauren Barnes D Jr. UCLA Upland, Calif.
Hailey Beam M Sr. Charlotte Cornelius, N.C.
Carolyn Blank M Sr. West Virginia Toms River, N.J.
Alysha Bonnick F Jr. Missouri North Gower, Ont.
Lauren Cheney F Sr. UCLA Indianapolis, Ind.
Amanda DaCosta M Jr. Florida State Katonah, N.Y.
Kelsey Davis K Sr. Portland Thousand Oaks, Calif.
Gina DeMaio M Sr. Rutgers Parsippany, N.J.
Gina DiMartino F Sr. Boston College Massapequa Park, N.Y.
Becky Edwards D Sr. Florida State Downingtown, Pa.
Whitney Engen D Sr. North Carolina Rolling Hills Estates, Calif.
Michelle Enyeart M Sr. Portland Hemet, Calif.
Sinead Farrelly M Jr. Virginia Havertown, Pa.
Lauren Fowlkes D Jr. Notre Dame Lee's Summit, Mo.
Erin Guthrie K Sr. Rutgers Sparta, N.J.
Sarah Hagen F So. Wisconsin-Milwaukee Appleton, Wis.
Tobin Heath M Sr. North Carolina Basking Ridge, N.J.
Melissa Henderson F So. Notre Dame Garland, Texas
Laura Heyboer F So. Michigan State Hudsonville, Mich.
Corky Julien F Sr. James Madison Williamstown, Ont.
Kasey Langdon F Sr. Oklahoma State Wylie, Texas
Sydney Leroux F So. UCLA Vancouver, B.C.
Nikki Marshall F Sr. Colorado Mead, Colo.
Jillian Mastroianni K So. Boston College Durham, Conn.
Alex Morgan F Jr. California-Berkeley Diamond Bar, Calif.
Alyssa Naeher K Sr. Penn State Seymour, Conn.
Christine Naim M Fr. Penn State Bowie, Md.
Veronica Napoli F So. Northeastern Newport, R.I.
Casey Nogueira F Sr. North Carolina Raleigh, N.C.
Teresa Noyola M So. Stanford Palo Alto, Calif.
Kelley O'Hara F Sr. Stanford Fayeteville, Ga.
Kristin Olsen K Sr. Southern California Orange, Calif.
Elizabeth Redmond F Sr. Duke Morristown, N.J.
Aline Reis K So. Central Florida Campinas, Brazil
Katherine Reynolds M Jr. Santa Clara Medina, Wash.
Courtney Rosen M Sr. Notre Dame Brecksville, Ohio
Malorie Rutledge M Sr. LSU Sharpsburg, Ga.
Sophie Schmidt M Jr. Portland Abbotsford, B.C.
Katie Schoepfer F Sr. Penn State Waterford, Conn.
Lindsay Taylor F So. Stanford Los Altos, Calif.
Ingrid Wells M So. Georgetown Upper Montclair, N.J.
Andrea Willis D Jr. Brigham Young Riverside, Calif.
Bri Young D So. Texas A&M Castle Pines North, Colo.
Tiffany Yovino M Jr. Hofstra Holtsville, N.Y.