Nov. 7, 2009

Courtesy of Portland

PORTLAND, Ore. --- The No. 2 Portland Pilots clinched the West Coast Conference’s automatic berth to the NCAA playoffs with a 2-0 win over San Diego Friday night at the Clive Charles Soccer Complex. In front of 3,166 fans and a national television audience on ESPNU, the Pilots (18-1-0) clinched their 11th WCC title, including their fifth perfect 7-0-0 league record.

The night started with recognition of the team’s four seniors as part of Senior Night. Michelle Enyeart, Kelsey Davis, Megan Sweeney and Janelle Jacka were each honored pregame and joined by their respective families as part of the on-field celebration before kickoff.

It was junior midfielder Kendra Chandhoke who stole the show, with a brilliant game-winner and helping hand on the insurance goal. Chandhoke tallied the first goal with a great individual effort in the 26th minute. She intercepted a back pass from the Torero midfield, took one touch and then drilled a 20-yard shot just under the crossbar and over the head of San Diego goalkeeper Courtney Parsons.

In the 38th minute, Danielle Foxhoven sent a corner kick into the mixer and Chandhoke chested it down to Sophie Schmidt, unmarked at the near post. Schmidt volleyed the shot off the underside of the crossbar from the top of the goal box for her 11th goal of the season and a 2-0.

That score would hold as Portland goalkeeper Kelsey Davis made two saves in recording her 10th shutout of the season. The Pilots outshot San Diego (12-6-2, 5-2-0) by a 10-3 margin and held a 5-2 edge on corner kicks.

Portland has now won 11 games in a row and outscored WCC competition 33-1 in seven matches.

It was not all positive for Portland though, as a hard collision between Enyeart and Parsons with five seconds left before halftime forced Enyeart to be helped off the field with an injured knee. She did not return in the second half and will await further tests to determine the severity of the injury.

The Pilots will now await their playoff fate as the NCAA bracket and opening round hosting sites will be announced live on ESPNEWS on Monday, Nov. 9 at 5 p.m. (Pacific).