Jan. 16, 2010

Paul Ratcliffe of Stanford University and Matt Yelton of Lee University each were honored for the second consecutive year with the announcement of the 2009 NSCAA/Mondo National Coach of the Year awards. The announcements were made as part of the annual NSCAA Awards Banquet, held in conjunction with the 2010 NSCAA Convention in Philadelphia, Pa.

Ratcliffe led his Stanford squad to its first NCAA Division I women's championship match and a 25-1 record last fall, while Yelton's team earned its second NAIA women's national title in as many years.

Seven other coaches added this year's honor to prior awards. Ray Wells of Lindsey Wilson College claimed his third NAIA men's award, while Craig Ewing of St. Thomas Aquinas High School in Overland Park, Kan., received his first award in the High School Boys Private/Parochial division after previously winning the honor twice (1995, 2005) with his girls' teams. Two colleges, Messiah College (NCAA Division III) and The Master's College (NCCAA Division I) swept both the men's and women's awards.

2009 NSCAA/Mondo National Coaches of the Year

NCAA Division I Men Caleb Porter, Akron Porter molded the Zips into the most dominant Division I team of 2009, leading the nation in with 2.32 goals per game and a goals-against-average of 0.27. The consensus No. 1-ranked team the final nine weeks of the season, Akron claimed its fourth Mid-American Conference title. He now has a record of 68-12-8 at Akron, including a 20-1-1 record in conference play.

NCAA Division I Women Paul Ratcliffe, Stanford Ratcliffe becomes the first in 14 years to claim back-to-back Division I women's national honors. He guided Stanford to a school-best 25-1 record and its first NCAA championship final. Along the way, the Cardinal broke a school record with 80 goals and placed four players on the NSCAA/Performance Subaru All-America Team. He now has a career record of 165-68-23 with eight NCAA Tournament appearances.

NCAA Division II Men Chad Duernberger, University of Charleston Duernberger led his team to a 19-4 record in 2009, including a 12-0 conference mark, and the No. 7 spot in the final NSCAA Division II national poll. This comes only two years after he inherited a team that was winless in 2007. He has a 23-23-2 record after two seasons at Charleston.

NCAA Division II Women Laurie Darling Guthiel, College of St. Rose Darling Guthiel's team posted a 24-1 record while advancing to the NCAA championship finals for the second consecutive year. Its only loss was an overtime decision to eventual national champion Grand Valley State. In the past eight years, she had led her team to a record of 135-27-14 and seven NCAA Tournament appearances.

NCAA Division III Men Brad McCarty, Messiah College In his first year at the helm, McCarty kept Messiah at the pinnacle, leading the team to its second NCAA title in as many years and its seventh in the last 10 seasons. His squad posted a 24-1 record while outscoring opponents by a 94-17 margin, and seven of his players earned all-conference honors.

NCAA Division III Women Scott Frey, Messiah College Posting a 25-0-1 record, Frey's squad claimed its second consecutive NCAA title. His team outscored its opponents by a staggering 104-7 and outshot its foes by a 646-98 margin. The NSCAA National Coach of the Year in 2005, he now has a record of 181-12-9 in nine seasons at Messiah, including a 73-2-2 record in conference play.