Nov. 1, 2010

NCAA Release

With 13 minutes and 46 seconds left in the first NCAA Division III Womens Soccer Championship, University of Rochester freshman forward Lisa Caraccilo buried a shot from eight yards out to tally the only goal in the November 16, 1986, title tilt. The 1-0 win gave Rochester the first of two NCAA national titles in program history and marked the beginning of a remarkable run for the divisions national championship tournament, which celebrates its silver anniversary in 2010.

In honor of the milestone, the NCAA named the Division III Womens Soccer 25th Anniversary Team on November 1. The 11 student-athletes and one coach who comprise the team will be publicly recognized during the 2010 Division III Mens and Womens Soccer Championships, December 3-4 in San Antonio.

The NCAA believes this is a good way to recognize what the individuals in the sport have accomplished and highlight the fact that the sport has grown so much over the last 25 years,” said John Neese, chair of the NCAA Division III Womens Soccer Committee and director of athletics at Hardin Simmons University.

A selection committee comprised of NCAA coaches and administrators charged with naming the team only considered the performances of players and coaches at past Division III championships.

The anniversary team was chosen from an initial pool of more than 350 nominees that included members of every all-tournament team and each offensive and defensive player of the tournament in the championships history. The selection committee trimmed the list of potential honorees to 27 student-athletes and seven coached and named the 12-member 25th anniversary team from that group of finalists.

The University of California, San Diegos Brian McManus was named as the anniversary teams lone coach. McManus, who guided the Tritons to five national championships, including a title in 1999, their final season at the Division III level, described his selection to the anniversary team as an incredible honor.

Its not only massive to me, but to UCSD as well because of the teams that were produced in Division III,” he said. There have been hundreds of great coaches in Division III who have done fantastic jobs with their teams. This is incredible. Its probably one of the biggest honors Ive had.”

Selection committee member and former Washington University (Missouri) head womens soccer coach Doug Hippler said more than a history of success and exceptional athletics talent sets the anniversary team members apart. They also demonstrated strong leadership qualities.

Various teams had success not only because these players might have been their best athletes, Hippler noted, but also because they were kind of the glue that kept the team together and were the components that really made their teams successful.

Ultimately, Aliceann Wilber, the longtime head womens soccer coach at William Smith and a member of the selection committee, believes the anniversary team recognizes a critical milestone in the championship tournament and reflects the evolution of the game, particularly at the Division III level.

In the 25 years, I think the quality and level of play of Division III soccer across the country has really increased and improved and I think this anniversary team is indicative of that,” she said. The fact that the NCAA has supported Division III and these opportunities for excellence in a national format for 25 years is a wonderful thing.”

NCAA Division III Womens Soccer 25th Anniversary Team
Bethany Barton, Wheaton College (Illinois)
Most Outstanding Defensive Player (2006, 2007)

Lisa Bray, William Smith College
Most Outstanding Defensive Player (1987, 1988)

Megan Collins, Ithaca College
1990 All-Tournament Team
1991 Most Outstanding Defensive Player

Dana DiBruno, College of New Jersey
All-Tournament Team (2005, 2007)

Ele Johnson, University of California, San Diego
All-tournament team (1993, 1994, 1996)
Most Outstanding Offensive Player (1995)

Kacie Klynstra, Messiah
Most Outstanding Player (2005)
All-Tournament Team (2007)
Most Outstanding Defensive Player (2008)

Taryne Lee, Wheaton College (Illinois)
All-tournament team selection (2006)

Amanda Naeher, Messiah College
All-Tournament Team (2008)
Most Outstanding Offensive Player (2009)

Carrie Peer, University of California, San Diego
All-Tournament Team (1993, 1994, 1995)

Cathy Poor, Amherst College
Most Outstanding Offensive Player (2001)

Kate Ryan-Reiling, Macalester College
Most Outstanding Offensive Player (1998)
All-Tournament Team (1999)

Brian McManus, Head Womens Soccer Coach, University of California, San Diego
Guided Tritons to five national championships and nine regional titles
Three-time NCAA Division III national coach of the year

NCAA Division III Womens Soccer 25th Anniversary Team Selection Committee

Bob Barnes, head womens soccer coach, Ohio Wesleyan University
Doug Hippler, former head womens soccer coach, Washington University in St. Louis
Scott McKenzie, assistant athletics director/head Womens Soccer Coach, Juniata College
Sheila Miech, head womens soccer coach, University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point
Michelle Morgan, head womens golf coach and senior woman administrator, Amherst College
Jennifer Scanlon, head womens soccer coach, Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
Aliceann Wilber, head womens soccer coach, William Smith College