Nov. 8, 2010

NCAA Release

Click here for the bracket

INDIANAPOLIS - The NCAA Division III Women's Soccer Committee announced today the field of 63 teams for the 2010 NCAA Division III Women's Soccer Championship.

Forty-two conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the 2010 championship. One team was selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final 20 berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams.

One team will receive a first-round bye. One two-team first-round match will be played to determine the team that advances to the second round to play the team that received a first-round bye. Fifteen four-team sites will conduct first- and second-round play on the first weekend of the championship, November 13-14 or 14-15. Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional sites November 20-21 or 21-22. All games, except the semifinals and final, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. Winners of the four sectionals will advance to the semifinals December 4-5, at Blossom Soccer Stadium in San Antonio, Texas.

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification (42):

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate ConferencePenn State-Altoona
American Southwest ConferenceHardin-Simmons
Capital Athletic ConferenceStevenson
Centennial ConferenceJohns Hopkins
College Conference of Illinois and WisconsinIllinois Wesleyan
Colonial States Athletic ConferenceCentenary (New Jersey)
Commonwealth ConferenceMessiah
The Commonwealth Coast ConferenceRoger Williams
Empire 8Stevens Institute of Technology
Freedom ConferenceManhattanville
Great Northeast Athletic ConferenceLasell
Great South Athletic ConferenceMaryville (Tennessee)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic ConferenceTransylvania
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic ConferenceLoras
Landmark ConferenceScranton
Liberty LeagueWilliam Smith
Little East ConferenceWestern Connecticut State
Massachusetts State College Athletic ConferenceWorcester State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic AssociationCalvin
Midwest ConferenceLawrence
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic ConferenceConcordia-Moorhead
New England Collegiate ConferenceMitchell
New England Small College Athletic ConferenceWilliams
New England Women's and Men's Athletic ConferenceSpringfield
New Jersey Athletic ConferenceThe College of New Jersey
North Atlantic ConferenceCastleton
North Coast Athletic ConferenceDenison
North Eastern Athletic ConferenceKeuka
Northern Athletics ConferenceAurora
Northwest ConferencePuget Sound
Ohio Athletic ConferenceOtterbein
Old Dominion Athletic ConferenceLynchburg
Presidents'Athletic ConferenceWashington and Jefferson
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic ConferencePrincipia
Skyline ConferenceFarmingdale State
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic ConferenceRedlands
Southern Collegiate Athletic ConferenceTrinity (Texas)
State University of New York Athletic ConferenceOneonta State
University Athletic AssociationChicago
Upper Midwest Athletic ConferenceNorthwestern (Minnesota)
USA South Athletic ConferenceChristopher Newport
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic AssociationWisconsin-Stevens Point

Pool B Berth (1):

Pool C Berths (20):
Augustana (Illinois)
Cal Lutheran
Eastern Connecticut State
Plattsburgh State
Rochester (New York)
Virginia Wesleyan
Washington U. in St. Louis
Wheaton (Illinois)
Wheaton (Massachusetts)
William Paterson

In last year's finals, Messiah College defeated Washington University (Missouri) by a score of 1-0, to win the championship. It was Messiah's second consecutive national championship.