soccer-women-d2 flag | November 14, 2013

Defending champ West Fla. returns for 2013 DII Women's Soccer Championship

Interactive Bracket Printable Bracket Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division II Women’s Soccer Committee on Monday announced the field of 48 teams for the 2013 NCAA Division II Women’s Soccer Championship. Each of the eight regions received six championship berths. Nineteen automatic berths are awarded for the Women’s Soccer Championship.

For first- and second-round competition, teams will be paired in their respective regions with the No. 4 seed playing the No. 5 seed; and the No. 3 seed playing the No. 6 seed Nov. 15, with the exception of the West region sites, which will play on Nov. 14. The winner of the No.4/5 seed game will advance to play the No. 1 seed and the winner of the No. 3/6 seed game will play the No. 2 seed on Nov. 17, with the exception of the West region, which will play on Nov. 16. All games will be played on the campus of a participating institution and will consist of two sites per region.

The two finalists in each region will advance to the third- and quarterfinal-round competition to be played Nov. 22 and 24. The semifinals and championship games will be played Dec. 5 and 7 at Blanchard Woods Park in Evans, Ga., and hosted by the Peach Belt Conference.

The first-round sites and team matchups are:
Atlantic Region
West Chester (13-7-0) vs. Kutztown (12-6-0)
* California (PA) (17-2-2) vs. winner of West Chester/Kutztown
Shippensburg (11-5-3) vs. Edinboro (12-5-2)
* Slippery Rock (13-3-2) vs. winner of West Chester/Edinboro

Central Region
Central Mo. (14-3-2) vs. Southwest Minn. St. (14-3-2)
* Minn. St. Mankato (17-2-2) vs. winner of Central Mo./Southwest Minn. St.
Winona St. (15-3-2) vs. Southwest Baptist (14-5-1)
* Minn. Duluth (15-3-0) vs. winner of Winona St./Southwest Baptist

East Region
Adelphi (13-2-4) vs. Mercy (13-4-1)
* Saint Rose (19-0-2) vs. winner of Adelphi/Mercy
Bridgeport (17-2-0) vs. Caldwell (13-5-2)
* American Int'l (15-2-2) vs. winner of Bridgeport/Caldwell

Midwest Region
Truman (12-4-4) vs. Rockhurst (12-5-3)
* Grand Valley State (19-0-1) vs. winner of Truman/Rockhurst
Wis.-Parkside (13-4-3) vs. Michigan Tech (14-5-1)
* Quincy (17-0-4) vs. winner of Wis.-Parkside/Michigan Tech

South Region
Valdosta St. (9-4-3) vs Florida Tech (11-5-2)
* West Florida (13-0-3) vs. winner of Valdosta St./Florida Tech
Tampa (13-3-1) vs. Barry (12-4-2)
* Rollins (14-3-0) vs. winner of Tampa/Barry

South Central Region
Midwestern St. (13-3-3) vs. Metro St. (12-4-3)
* Colorado Mines (19-0-1) vs. winner of Midwestern St./ Metro St.
St. Edward’s (16-0-2) vs. Tex. A&M-Commerce (11-5-2)
* Fort Lewis (16-5-0) vs. winner of St. Edward’s/ Tex. A&M-Commerce

Southeast Region
Columbus St. (14-6-0) vs. Clayton St. (11-3-6)
* Wingate (15-2-3) vs. winner of Columbus St./Clayton St.
Belmont Abbey (14-3-3) vs Pfeiffer (13-6-1)
* Lenoir-Rhyne (14-4-1) vs. winner of Belmont Abbey/Pfeiffer

West Region
Cal St. San Bernadino (11-6-3) vs. California Baptist (12-5)
* Cal St. Stanislaus (18-0-2) vs. winner of Cal St. San Bernadino/California Baptist
Sonoma St. (13-4-3) vs. Seattle Pacific (14-5-1)
* Western Wash. (17-1-1) vs. winner of Sonoma St./Seattle Pacific.

* -- Host institution

DII football Sunday: A new Power 10, Harlon Hill watchlist, and what you may have missed in Week 1

Ferris State opened with a win to maintain the top spot, but there was certainly a shakeup in the latest DII football Power 10 rankings. Take a look, plus more than 20 players to watch for the 2022 Harlon Hill Trophy.