soccer-women-d2 flag | November 8, 2016

Division II Women's Soccer Championship bracket selected

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division II Women’s Soccer Committee announced on Monday the field of 48 teams for the 2016 NCAA Division II Women’s Soccer Championship. Each of the eight regions received six championship berths.

Division II Women's Soccer Championship: Interactive Bracket | Printable Bracket

Twenty-two conferences received automatic qualification into the 2016 championship. Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below:

Conference School
California Collegiate Athletic Association  UC San Diego
Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference  Caldwell
Conference Carolinas  Limestone
East Coast Conference  Bridgeport
Great American Conference  Harding
Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference  Grand Valley State
Great Lakes Valley Conference  McKendree
Great Midwest Athletic Conference  Davis and Elkins
Great Northwest Athletic Conference  Western Washington
Gulf South Conference  West Florida
Heartland Conference  Dallas Baptist
Lone Star Conference  Midwestern State
Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association  Central Missouri
Mountain East Conference  Notre Dame (Ohio)
Northeast-10 Conference  Stonehill
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference  Minnesota State, Mankato
Pacific West Conference  Azusa Pacific
Peach Belt Conference  Columbus State
Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference  East Stroudsburg
Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference  Colorado Mines
South Atlantic Conference  Carson-Newman
Sunshine State Conference  Saint Leo

  Grand Valley State has its eyes on a fourth consecutive title.
For first- and second-round competition, teams will be paired in their respective regions with the No. 4 seed playing the No. 5 seed; and the No. 3 seed facing the No. 6 seed Thursday, November 10 or Friday, November 11. The winner of the No. 4/5 seed game will advance to play the No. 1 seed and the winner of the No. 3/6 seed game will take on the No. 2 seed on Saturday, November 12 or Sunday, November 13.  All games will be played on the campus of a participating institution and will consist of two sites per region. The two finalists in each region will advance to third- and quarterfinal-round competition to be played Friday, November 18 and Sunday, November 20. The semifinals and championship games will take place December 1 and 3 at Children's Mercy Victory Field at Swope Soccer Village in Kansas City, Missouri, hosted by the Kansas City Sports Commission, the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletic Association and Rockhurst University.

In the 2015 NCAA Division II Women's Soccer national championship game, Grand Valley State defeated Columbus State 2-0 to capture its third consecutive title.

Selection criteria data through the end of the regular season is available here:

2020 US women's soccer team roster: Where USWNT Olympians played in college

Seventeen out of the 18 players on the U.S. women's soccer team roster played NCAA college soccer, many former collegiate stars and some national champions.

Panel approves extending COVID-19 penalties in men’s and women’s soccer

The NCAA Playing Rules Oversight Panel on Tuesday approved extending a rules change from the 2020 college soccer season that enhanced the penalty for spitting at or biting an opponent.

Soccer Rules Committee clarifies handball interpretation

Rules will align more with international competition

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners