soccer-women-d3 flag | November 7, 2016

Division III Women's Soccer Committee selects championship field

DIII Women's Soccer: 2016 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS --- The NCAA Division III Women’s Soccer Committee announced today the field of 64 teams for the 2016 Division III Women’s Soccer Championship.

2016 DIII Women's Soccer Championship: Interactive Bracket | Printable Bracket

Forty-three conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the 2016 championship.  One team was selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, as well as members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification.  The final 20 berths were reserved for Pool C, which includes institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that did not win their conference championship and any remaining Pool B teams.

Sixteen four-team sites will conduct first- and second-round play on the first weekend of the championship, November 11 and 12 or 12 and 13.  Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional sites November 18 and 19 or 19 and 20.  All games, except the semifinals and final, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions.  Winners of the four sectionals will advance to the semifinals December 2 and 3, at Kerr Stadium in Salem, Virginia, with Roanoke College, the Old Dominion Athletic Conference and the City of Salem serving as hosts.

Williams College is the defending national champion, having defeated Washington University in St. Louis 1-0 in last year’s championship game. 

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification (43):

Conference School
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Pennsylvania State University, Erie, the Behrend College
American Southwest Conference Hardin-Simmons University
Capital Athletic Conference Christopher Newport University
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins University
City University of New York Athletic Conference College of Staten Island
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Illinois Wesleyan University
Colonial States Athletic Conference Marywood University
Commonwealth Coast Conference Wentworth Institute of Technology
Empire 8 Stevens Institute of Technology
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Lasell College
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Hanover College
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Luther College
Landmark Conference University of Scranton
Liberty League William Smith College
Little East Conference Western Connecticut State University
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference Worcester State University
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Hope College
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Messiah College
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Misericordia University
Midwest Conference Knox College
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Augsburg College
New England Collegiate Conference Elms College
New England Small College Athletic Conference Amherst College
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference Worchester Polytechnic Institute
New Jersey Athletic Conference Rowan University
North Atlantic Conference Colby-Sawyer College
North Coast Athletic Conference Denison University
North Eastern Athletic Conference Penn State Berks College
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Milwaukee School of Engineering
Northwest Conference Pacific Lutheran University
Ohio Athletic Conference University of Mount Union
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Washington and Lee University
Presidents’Athletic Conference Thomas More College
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Webster University
Skyline Conference Farmingdale State College
Southern Athletic Association Centre College
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Claremont McKenna-Harvey Mudd-Scripps Colleges
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity University (Texas) 
State University of New York Athletic Conference Buffalo State, State University of New York
University Athletic Association Washington University in St. Louis
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference University of Minnesota, Morris
USA South Athletic Conference Piedmont College
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Association University of Wisconsin-Whitewater


Pool B Berths (1):

University of California, Santa Cruz

Pool C Berths (20):

Arcadia University

Brandeis University

Carnegie Mellon University

University of Chicago

Connecticut College

Loras College

Lynchburg College

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

McDaniel College

Middlebury College

Montclair State University

Nazareth College

The College of New Jersey

Pomona-Pitzer Colleges

University of St. Thomas (Minnesota)

Swarthmore College

Trinity College (Connecticut)

Virginia Wesleyan College

Williams College

Wittenberg University


Log on to for more information regarding the 2016 championship, including the complete bracket with dates and sites.

2023 DII women's soccer championship: Bracket, schedule, scores, updates

The selection show, brackets, dates and schedule for the 2023 DII women's soccer championship.

2023 NCAA DIII women's soccer championship: Bracket, schedule, scores, how to watch

Coverage of the 2023 NCAA DIII women's soccer championship, including bracket, live stream, schedules, highlights, scores and news.

4 storylines to watch in the DII women’s soccer championship

The 2023 NCAA DII women’s soccer tournament kicks off on Thursday, Nov. 16. Here’s a few things to keep an eye on as regional play begins.