soccer-women-d1 flag | November 7, 2016

Division I Women's Soccer Championship field announced

DI Women's Soccer: 2016 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS --- The field of 64 teams, which will compete for the 35th NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship, was announced this afternoon by the Division I Women’s Soccer Committee.

The four No. 1 seeds include Stanford University, the automatic qualifier out of the Pac-12 Conference, and West Virginia University, the automatic qualifier from the Big-12 Conference.  The University of Florida, the automatic qualifier out of the Southeastern Conference (SEC), and fellow SEC member University of South Carolina, Columbia, also earned No. 1 seeds. 

Houston Baptist University, an automatic qualifier from the Southland Conference, will face Stanford in the opening round.  West Virginia will host Northern Kentucky University, the Horizon League champion. Florida will host Florida Gulf Coast University, the ASUN Conference champion, and South Carolina will host Alabama State University, the automatic qualifier from the Southwestern Athletic Conference.

RELATED: Division I Women's Soccer Championship Interactive Bracket

The No. 2 seeds include Georgetown University, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, University of Notre Dame and University of Southern California. Capturing the No. 3 seeds are Clemson University, Duke University, Florida State University and University of Virginia.

Auburn University, Brigham Young University, University of California, Los Angeles and the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, each earned a No. 4 seed to complete the top 16-seeded teams.

The Big Ten Conference led all conferences with eight teams in the tournament. The Atlantic Coast Conference followed with seven teams, and the Big 12, Pac-12 and SEC will each have six representatives in this year’s tournament.

Thirty-one conferences were granted automatic bids for the 2016 championship, while the remaining 33 teams were selected at-large. The top 16 teams are seeded and conference teams cannot play each other in the first- or second-rounds. When pairing teams, the committee follows geographic proximity parameters. The top 16 teams will host and all other sites were selected for the first-round to create the least number of flights.

First-round games will be played November 11, 12 and 13 at campus sites. Second-round games will be played Friday, November 18 at campus sites, and third-round games will be played Sunday, November 20 at the same campus sites. Quarterfinal games will be played November 25 or 26 also on campus sites.

The 35th annual NCAA Women’s College Cup will be played December 2 and 4 at Avaya Stadium in San Jose, California, with the West Coast Conference and the San Jose Sports Authority serving as co-hosts. The first national semifinal will be played and shown live on ESPNU at 5 p.m. Eastern Time Friday, December 2. The second semifinal will begin at approximately 7:30 p.m. Eastern Time live on ESPNU. The national championship match will take place at 6 p.m Eastern Time on Sunday, December 4 and will also broadcast live on ESPNU.

Conferences recieving automatic qualification (31):

Conference Team
America East Conference University at Albany
American Athletic Conference University of Connecticut
Atlantic 10 Conference University of Dayton
Atlantic Coast Conference Florida State University
ASUN Conference Florida Gulf Coast University
Big 12 Conference West Virginia University
Big East Conference Georgetown University
Big Sky Conference Eastern Washington University
Big South Conference Liberty University
Big Ten Conference University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Big West Conference Long Beach State University
Colonial Athletic Association Northeastern University
Conference USA The University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Horizon League Northern Kentucky University
The Ivy League Harvard University
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Monmouth University
Mid-American Conference Kent State University
Missouri Valley Conference Illinois State University
Mountain West Conference University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Northeast Conference Saint Francis University (Pennsylvania)
Ohio Valley Conference Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Pac-12 Conference Stanford University
Patriot League Bucknell University
Southeastern Conference University of Florida
Southern Conference Samford University
Southland Conference Houston Baptist University
Southwestern Athletic Conference Alabama State University
The Summit League South Dakota State University
Sun Belt Conference University of South Alabama
West Coast Conference Pepperdine University
Western Athletic Conference Seattle University

Virginia Tech women's soccer scores chip goal to upset No. 3 North Carolina

Powell scored her sixth goal of the season to knock off the No. 3 Tar Heels 2-1 — and she did it in style.

Michigan State stuns No. 6 Penn State on the road to remain undefeated in Big Ten play

The Michigan State women's soccer team beat No. 6 Penn State to notch its first road win over the Nittany Lions in program history.

No. 17 Penn State blanks No. 4 Rutgers in its first loss of the year

No. 17 Penn State blanks No. 4 Rutgers 2-0 in a Thursday night upset at home. The Nittany Lions hand the Scarlet Knights their first loss of the season.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners