soccer-women-d1 flag

Texas A&M Athletics | November 5, 2017

Texas A&M crowned SEC champion after 13th straight victory

  Emily Bates was Sunday's hero, netting the game-winner in the 88th minute.

ORANGE BEACH, Ala. – The No. 11 Texas A&M women's soccer team got an 88th minute goal from Emily Bates to top the Arkansas 2-1 in the SEC tournament championship match Sunday afternoon at Orange Beach Sportsplex. The win gave the Aggies their third SEC tournament title to go with the crowns won in 2013 and 2014.

The victory gave the Aggies 13 consecutive wins, tying the school record set in the 1994-95 seasons.

MORE: 2017 Women's College Cup news and info

With the overtime graphic showing on the television screen, Bates worked up the late-game heroics. Dribbling on the left side of the box, the junior okey-doked an Arkansas defender, then raced toward the end line. Before entering the six-yard box, she pounded a left-footer past the keeper, who was manning the left post.

Arkansas (11-10-2) knotted the match at 1-1 just seven minutes earlier. With the ball rattling around the penalty box after a long throw-in, Parker Goins sent a looping shot from the right corner of the penalty box into the left upper 90 for the equalizer.

Texas A&M (17-2-1) owned the advantages in shots (11-7) and shots-on-goal (6-2) while Arkansas held a 5-4 edge in corner kicks.

In a first half that saw just five total shots, the Aggies got the lone tally on an own goal. A tremendous build-up of play led to Stephanie Malherbe entering the penalty box unmarked from the right side. Eight yards off the endline, Malherbe sent a cross with a pair of Aggies charging towards the goal. Arkansas defender Tori Cannata interceded and did the work for the Aggies with a sliding kick that sent the ball between the keeper and the right post for the own goal.

RELATED: UNC takes ACC title on 1-0 win over top-seeded Duke

In the first half, Texas A&M owned a 3-1 shots and Arkansas held a 3-1 edge in corner kicks.

Mikaela Harvey earned the SEC Tournament Most Valuable Player Award. She was joined on the all-tournament team by Ally Watt, Kendall Ritchie and Emily Bates.

Texas A&M earned its eighth conference tournament crown to go with their SEC titles in 2013 and '14 and Big 12 Championship trophies in 1997, 2001, '04, '05 and '11.

With the win, Texas A&M is assured a berth in their 23rd consecutive NCAA Championship. The Aggies will await word on their NCAA championship matchup when the tournament bracket is released Monday at 4:30 p.m. ET on

The 6 college softball teams with the most national championships

Here are the schools with the most NCAA softball championships, led by the UCLA Bruins.

College baseball rankings: Texas A&M and Wofford join this week's top 25

Texas A&M and Wofford jumped into this week's poll, while Tennessee stays on top of the poll behind its historic start. See the latest college baseball rankings here.

Texas A&M softball rolls past No. 2 Alabama in five innings

Texas A&M won the weekend series against No. 2 Alabama with a 9-1 win in five innings.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners