soccer-women-d3 flag | November 6, 2017

DIII women's soccer championship field announced

DIII Women's Soccer: 2017 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Women’s Soccer Committee announced on Monday the field of 64 teams for the 2017 Division III Women’s Soccer Championship.

Forty-three conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the 2017 championship. One team was selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, as well as members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final 20 berths were reserved for Pool C, which includes institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that did not win their conference championship and any remaining Pool B teams.

Interactive bracket | Printable bracket

Sixteen four-team sites will conduct first- and second-round play on the first weekend of the championship, November 10 and 11 or 11 and 12. Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional sites November 17 and 18 or 18 and 19. All games, except the semifinals and final, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. Winners of the four sectionals will advance to the semifinals December 1 and 2, at UNCG Soccer Stadium in Greensboro, North Carolina, with the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and Greensboro Sports Commission serving as hosts.

In last year’s final, Washington University in St. Louis defeated Messiah College in penalty kicks to win the championship after a 1-1 tie following regulation and both overtime periods.

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification (43):

Conference  School
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Pennsylvania State University, Erie, the Behrend College
American Southwest Conference

Hardin-Simmons University

Capital Athletic Conference

Christopher Newport University

Centennial Conference

Swarthmore College

City University of New York Athletic Conference

College of Staten Island

College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin

Wheaton College (Illinois)

Colonial States Athletic Conference

Cabrini University

Commonwealth Coast Conference

Roger Williams University

Empire 8

Stevens Institute of Technology

Great Northeast Athletic Conference

Lasell College

Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference

Franklin College

Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

Loras College

Landmark Conference

University of Scranton

Liberty League

William Smith College

Little East Conference

Western Connecticut State University

Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference

Westfield State University

Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association

Hope College

Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth

Arcadia University

Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom

Misericordia University

Midwest Conference

Knox College

Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

St. Catherine University

New England Collegiate Conference

Lesley University

New England Small College Athletic Conference

Williams College

New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

New Jersey Athletic Conference

The College of New Jersey

North Atlantic Conference

Castleton University

North Coast Athletic Conference

Wittenberg University

North Eastern Athletic Conference

Penn State Berks College

Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference

Dominican University (Illinois)

Northwest Conference

Pacific Lutheran University

Ohio Athletic Conference

Ohio Northern University

Old Dominion Athletic Conference

Lynchburg College

Presidents’ Athletic Conference

Thomas More College

St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

Webster University

Skyline Conference

Farmingdale State College

Southern Athletic Association

Centre College

Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

Whittier College

Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference

Trinity University (Texas)

State University of New York Athletic Conference

State University of New York at Geneseo

University Athletic Association

Washington University in St. Louis

Upper Midwest Athletic Conference

The College of St. Scholastica

USA South Athletic Conference

Methodist University

Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

Pool B Berth (1):

University of California, Santa Cruz

Pool C Berths (20):

Brandeis University

California Lutheran University

Carnegie Mellon University

University of Chicago

Connecticut College

Hamilton College

Illinois Wesleyan University

Johns Hopkins University

University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

McDaniel College

Messiah College

Middlebury College

Rowan University

University of St. Thomas (Minnesota)

Susquehanna University

Tufts University

Virginia Wesleyan College

Wartburg College

Wilkes University

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

Log on to for more information regarding the 2017 championship, including the complete bracket with dates and sites.

Creighton's Duncan McGuire and Duke's Michelle Cooper named 2022 Mac Hermann winners

The 2022 Mac Hermann Trophy winners are Creighton's Duncan McGuire and Duke's Michelle Cooper.

How college soccer overtime works

There are a few differences between OT rules in college soccer and extra time rules in the pro game — here's how it works.

2022 women’s soccer MAC Hermann Trophy finalists announced

United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) announced the women’s finalists for the 2022 MAC Hermann Trophy, based on voting by NCAA Division I women’s soccer coaches, on Thursday.