soccer-women-d1 flag | November 5, 2018

NCAA soccer: DI women's 2018 tournament bracket revealed

DI Women's Soccer: 2018 Selection Show

NDIANAPOLIS — The field of 64 teams, which will compete for the 37th NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship, was announced this afternoon by the NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Committee.

In the first round, Seattle University, the automatic qualifier from the Western Athletic Conference, will face Stanford. North Carolina will host Howard from the Southwestern Athletic Conference. Florida State will host Loyola Chicago from the Missouri Valley Conference, and Georgetown will host Central Connecticut State, the automatic qualifier from the Northeast Conference.

RELATED: View the 2018 interactive bracket | 2018 Women's College Cup info | Buy champ tickets

Thirty-one conferences were granted automatic bids for the 2018 championship, while the remaining 33 teams were selected at-large. The top 16 teams are seeded and conference teams cannot play each other in the first or second rounds. When pairing teams, the committee follows geographic proximity parameters. The top 16 teams will host, and all other sites were selected for the first round to create the least number of flights.

The four No. 1 seeds include Stanford, the automatic qualifier out of the Pac-12 Conference, and Florida State, the automatic qualifier from the Atlantic Coast Conference. Georgetown and North Carolina also earned No. 1 seeds.  

Additionally, the No. 2 seeds include West Virginia, Baylor, UCLA and Tennessee. Followed by Texas A&M, Santa Clara, Virginia and South Carolina earning the No. 3 seed. Lastly, Southern California, Duke, Texas and Boston College each earned a No. 4 seed completing the top 16-seeded teams. 

The Atlantic Coast Conference led all conferences with 10 teams in the tournament. The SEC followed with nine teams, and the Big Ten Conference and Big 12 Conference each will have six representatives in this year's tournament. 

All preliminary-round competition will take place at campus sites. First-round games will be played Nov. 9, 10 and 11. Second- and third-round games will be played Friday, Nov. 16 and Sunday, Nov. 18, and Quarterfinal games will be played Nov. 23 or 24.

The 37th annual NCAA Women's College Cup will be played Nov. 30 and Dec. 2 at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, North Carolina with Campbell University and the Town of Cary serving as co-hosts. The first national semifinal will be played and broadcast live on ESPNU at 5 p.m. Eastern time Friday, Nov. 30, followed by the second semifinal beginning at approximately 7:30 p.m. Eastern time live on ESPNU. The national championship match will take place at 1 p.m. Eastern time Sunday, Dec. 2 and will also broadcast live on ESPNU.

American East Conference  Albany (New York)
American Athletic Conference  Memphis
Atlantic 10 Conference  Saint Louis
Atlantic Coast Conference  Florida State
ASUN Conference  Lipscomb
Big 12 Conference  West Virginia
Big East Conference  Georgetown
Big Sky Conference  Montana
Big South Conference  Radford
Big Ten Conference Minnesota
Big West Conference Long Beach State
Colonial Athletic Association Hofstra
Conference USA North Texas
Horizon League Milwaukee
The Ivy League Princeton
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Monmouth
Mid-American Conference Bowling Green
Missouri Valley Conference Loyola Chicago
Mountain West Conference  San Jose State
Northeast Conference  Central Connecticut State
Ohio Valley Conference Murray State
Pac-12 Conference  Stanford
Patriot League Boston U.
Southeastern Conference LSU
Southern Conference UNC Greensboro
Southland Conference Abilene Christian
Southwestern Athletic Conference Howard
The Summit League  Denver
Sun Belt Conference  University of Arkansas at Little Rock
West Coast Conference  Brigham Young
Western Athletic Conference  Seattle University

To find the complete 2018 NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship bracket visit

MORE: Latest DI women's soccer news & highlights | Championship history


PROP approves changes to soccer overtime rules

Overtime will not be played in the regular season, and sudden-victory format will be eliminated in postseason.

10 memorable NCAA DII sports moments from fall 2021

The much-awaited return to NCAA DII fall sports certainly didn't disappoint. First time champions, upsets galore and record-setting runs highlight the first half of the 2021-22 athletics year.

DII women’s soccer teams with the most NCAA DII national championships

Here are the five programs that have won the most DII women's soccer championships.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners