soccer-women-d3 flag | January 21, 2020

Messiah defeats William Smith to win the 2019 DIII women's soccer national title

2019 DIII Women's Soccer Championship: Messiah vs. William Smith Recap

Messiah defeated William Smith 1-0 to win the 2019 DIII women's soccer national championship. It's the Falcons' six women's soccer national title in program history.

Below is the updated bracket, round-by-round results and live stream information for the 2019 championship.

2019 CHAMPIONSHIP: View the interactive bracket | 2019 printable bracket | Scoreboard

2019 DIII women's soccer championship: The bracket

Sixty-four schools were originally selected to the single-elimination tournament back on Nov. 11. Forty-three conference champions were awarded automatic qualification while 21 were selected on an at-large basis.

Here is a look at how the 2019 DIII women's soccer championship bracket played out.

DIII women's soccer bracket

Click or tap here for a high-resolution view of the DIII women's soccer bracket.

2019 NCAA DIII women's soccer tournament: Schedule, scores

Winners are bolded. All times ET unless noted otherwise.

CHAMPIONSHIP (Saturday, Dec. 7)


SEMIFINALS (Friday, Dec. 6)

QUARTERFINALS (Nov. 23 or 24)

Nov. 23:

Nov. 24:

THIRD ROUND (Nov. 22 or 23)

Nov. 22:

Nov. 23:

SECOND ROUND (Nov. 16 or 17)

Nov. 16:

Nov. 17:

FIRST ROUND (Nov. 15 or 16)

Nov. 15:

Nov. 16:

Division III women's soccer championship history

Williams has won the past two national titles, and three of the last four championships. But there will be a new national champion this year following the Ephs' quarterfinals exit in the 2019 tournament.

Here is the full DIII women's soccer championship history since 1986.

2018 Williams (19-1-4) Michelyne Pinard 1-1 (3-2 PKs) Middlebury Greensboro, N.C.
2017 Williams (22-1-1) Michelyne Pinard 1-0 Chicago Greensboro, N.C.
2016 Washington-St. Louis (18-2-3) Jim Conlon 1-1 (5-4 PKs) Messiah Salem, Va.
2015 Williams (21-1-2) Michelyne Pinard 1-0 Washington-St. Louis Kansas City, Mo.
2014 *Lynchburg (26-0-2) Todd Olsen 0-0 (4-3 PKs) Williams Kansas City, Mo.
2013 William Smith (23-1-0) Aliceann Wilber 2-0 Trinity (Texas) San Antonio
2012 Messiah (24-1-1) Scott Frey 1-0 Emory San Antonio
2011 Messiah (23-0-1) Scott Frey 3-1 Wheaton (Ill.) San Antonio
2010 Hardin-Simmons (24-0-1) Marcus Wood 2-1 Messiah San Antonio
2009 Messiah (25-0-1) Scott Frey 1-0 Washington-St. Louis San Antonio
2008 Messiah (24-0-2) Scott Frey 5-0 Wheaton (Ill.) Greensboro, N.C.
2007 Wheaton (Ill.) (27-0) Pete Felske 1-0 Messiah Lake Buena Vista, Fla.
2006 Wheaton (Ill.) (24-2) Pete Felske 2-0 TCNJ Lake Buena Vista, Fla.
2005 Messiah (22-0-1) Scott Frey 1-0 TCNJ Greensboro, N.C.
2004 *Wheaton (IL) (25-1) Pete Felske 1-1 (2 ot, pk) Pugent Sound Greensboro, N.C.
2003 Oneonta State (21-1-3) Tracey Ranieri 2-1 (ot) Chicago Oneonta State
2002 Ohio Wesleyan (24-0) Bob Barnes 1-0 Messiah William Smith
2001 Ohio Wesleyan (22-1) Bob Barnes 1-0 Amherst Ohio Wesleyan
2000 TCNJ (23-1) Joe Russo 2-1 Tufts Tufts
1999 UC San Diego (19-1-2) Brian McManus 1-0 Macalester Williams
1998 Macalester (22-1-1) John Leaney 1-0 (4 ot) TCNJ Ithaca
1997 UC San Diego (20-2) Brian McManus 1-0 William Smith Elizabethtown
1996 UC San Diego (21-1) Brian McManus 2-1 TCNJ Amherst
1995 UC San Diego (19-2) Brian McManus 3-0 Methodist Richard Stockton
1994 TCNJ (15-0) Joe Russo 4-3 (3 ot) UC San Diego UC San Diego
1993 TCNJ (20-1-3) Joe Russo 4-0 Plymouth State William Smith
1992 SUNY Cortland (17-2-3) Chris Malone 1-0 UMass-Dartmouth Mary Washington
1991 Ithaca (19-2-3) Patrick Farmer 2-0 Rochester Plymouth State
1990 Ithaca (18-5-2) Patrick Farmer 1-0 (4 ot, pk) SUNY Cortland SUNY Cortland
1989 UC San Diego (19-1-1) Brian McManus 3-2 (3 ot) Ithaca UC San Diego
1988 William Smith (18-1-1) Aliceann Wilber 1-0 UC San Diego William Smith
1987 Rochester (18-1) Terry Gurnett 1-0 William Smith Rochester
1986 Rochester (13-2-1) Terry Gurnett 1-0 Plymouth State SUNY Cortland

*Declared champion on the basis of penalty kicks.

2020 US women's soccer team roster: Where USWNT Olympians played in college

Seventeen out of the 18 players on the U.S. women's soccer team roster played NCAA college soccer, many former collegiate stars and some national champions.

Panel approves extending COVID-19 penalties in men’s and women’s soccer

The NCAA Playing Rules Oversight Panel on Tuesday approved extending a rules change from the 2020 college soccer season that enhanced the penalty for spitting at or biting an opponent.

Soccer Rules Committee clarifies handball interpretation

Rules will align more with international competition

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners