April 15, 2010

NCAA Release

The NCAA Division III Softball Committee has announced seven of the eight predetermined regional sites for the 2010 Division III Softball Championship.  Teams will be selected for the championship and assigned to regional sites Monday, May 10.  

The selected regional hosts and sites are:

Christopher Newport University - Newport News, Virginia
DePauw University - Greencastle, Indiana
Ithaca College - Ithaca, New York
Rhode Island College - Providence, Rhode Island
Simpson College - Indianola, Iowa
Wellesley College - Wellesley, Massachusetts
University of Wisconsin, Whitewater - Whitewater, Wisconsin

Due to the diverse geographic locations of institutions in the West and South, the committee will determine the eighth regional site May 10 after team selections have been confirmed in order to minimize the number of flights required for the selected teams to travel to a regional site.  

Eight teams will compete at six regional sites and six teams will compete at two regional sites.  The eight-team regionals will be held May 13-17, and the six-team regionals will be held May 14-17.  All regional sites will use a double-elimination format.

The finals, hosted by the University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire, will be held May 21-25 at Carson Park in Eau Claire, Wisconsin.

For more information about the Division III Softball Championship, log on to www.ncaa.com.