May 16, 2010

Printable BracketLive Bracket


INDIANAPOLIS - The University of Alabama was named the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Division I Softball Championship today when the NCAA Division I Softball Committee announced the 64-team field. The Crimson Tide, champions of the Southeastern Conference, are 48-9 and will play Alcorn State University, an automatic qualifier from the Southwestern Athletic Conference, May 21, in front of a home crowd in Tuscaloosa.

Thirty conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 34 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites this weekend.

Team pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition, when possible.

The Big 12 Conference, the Pacific-10 Conference and the SEC led all conferences with seven teams in the championship. The Atlantic Coast Conference placed five in the championship. California State University, Fresno, remains the only team to be selected to all 29 championships. Twelve teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: University of Alabama at Birmingham, Alcorn State University, Bucknell University, University of California, Davis, Elon University, Fordham University, Iona College, Lipscomb University, McNeese State University, St. Mary’s College of California, Syracuse University and University of Virginia.

Only 10 schools have been crowned the NCAA Division I softball champion since the tournament started in 1982, and nine are in this year's bracket.

* Indicates host institution

Tuscaloosa Regional - May 21-23 at Tuscaloosa, Alabama
No. 1 seed Alabama* (48-9) vs. Alcorn St. (24-24)
Lipscomb (48-11) vs. UAB (36-20)

Stanford Regional - May 21-23 at Stanford, California
Stanford* (36-17) vs. Texas Tech (36-16)
UC Davis (26-27) vs. No. 16 seed Hawaii (44-13)

Columbia Regional - May 21-23 at Columbia, Missouri
No. 9 seed Missouri* (46-11) vs. Creighton (37-21)
DePaul (38-16) vs. Illinois (43-6)

Atlanta Regional - May 21-23 at Atlanta, Georgia
Oregon (33-19) vs. Auburn (30-24)
Jacksonville St. (30-17) vs. No. 8 seed Georgia Tech* (49-9)

Los Angeles Regional - May 21-23 at Los Angeles, California
No. 5 seed UCLA* (40-11) vs. St. Mary's (CA) (30-21)
Fresno St. (39-19) vs. San Diego St. (33-14)

Baton Rouge Regional - May 21-23 at Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Texas A&M (42-14) vs. La.-Lafayette (42-16)
McNeese St. (38-25) vs. No. 12 seed LSU* (44-14)

Amherst Regional - May 21-23 at Amherst, Massachusetts
No. 13 seed Arizona St. (41-15) vs. Boston U. (34-20)
Long Island (37-16) vs. Massachusetts* (42-8-1)

Gainesville Regional - May 21-23 at Gainesville, Florida
UCF (35-21) vs. FIU (36-19)
Bethune-Cookman (32-22) vs. No. 4 seed Florida* (43-8)

Seattle Regional - May 21-23 at Seattle, Washington
No. 3 seed Washington* (45-6) vs. North Dakota St. (33-23)
Nebraska (29-27) vs. North Carolina (40-18)

College Park Regional - May 21-23 at College Park, Maryland
Fordham (47-10) vs. Maryland* (33-22)
Syracuse (32-24) vs. No. 14 seed Oklahoma (43-10)

Columbus Regional - May 21-23 at Columbus, Ohio
No. 11 seed California (41-17) vs. Bucknell (28-18-1)
Kentucky (31-25) vs. Ohio St.* (37-12)

Athens Regional - May 21-23 at Athens, Georgia
Florida St. (43-16) vs. Radford (36-15)
Elon (38-19) vs. No. 6 Georgia* (43-11)

Austin Regional - May 20-22 at Austin, Texas
No. 7 seed Texas* (42-13) vs. Iona (28-24)
East Carolina (42-16) vs. BYU (43-11)

Tucson Regional - May 21-23 at Tucson, Arizona
Oklahoma St. (43-14) vs. Hofstra (43-10)
Cornell (37-13) vs. No. 10 seed Arizona* (43-11)

Knoxville Regional - May 21-23 at Knoxville, Tennessee
No. 15 seed Tennessee* (42-13) vs. Ball St. (43-14)
Virginia (33-21) vs. Louisville (39-17)

Ann Arbor Regional - May 21-23 at Ann Arbor, Michigan
Notre Dame (45-10) vs. Illinois State (32-18)
Wright St. (30-28-1) vs. No. 2 seed Michigan* (46-6)


The Division I championship provides for a field of 64 teams. The championship will be three weekends of competition. Four teams will participate at each of 16 regional sites in a double-elimination tournament. Sixteen teams were seeded and placed at one of the regional sites.

The regional winners will advance to super regional competition for a best-of-three series May 28-29 at eight campus sites.

The remaining eight teams will advance to the WCWS, an eight-team, double-elimination tournament. The championship final will be a best-of-three-series. The WCWS will be conducted June 3-9 at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City.


The NCAA Division I Softball Committee selected teams from the following eight regions to participate in the championship: Central, East, Northeast, South, Mideast, Midwest, West and Pacific. Thirty conferences have been granted automatic qualification for the 2010 championship.


Teams were selected to the field of 64 teams. The top 16 teams were seeded in order, and the remaining teams were placed in regional brackets to create balanced competition and avoid conference match-ups, when possible.

America East - Boston U.
Atlantic Coast - Georgia Tech
Atlantic 10 - Massachusetts
Atlantic Sun - Lipscomb
Big East - Syracuse
Big South - Radford
Big Ten - Michigan
Big 12 - Oklahoma
Big West - UC Davis
Colonial Athletic - Hofstra
Conference USA - East Carolina
Horizon League - Wright St.
Ivy Group - Cornell
Metro Atlantic - Iona
Mid-American - Ball State
Mid-Eastern - Bethune-Cookman
Missouri Valley - Creighton
Mountain West - BYU
Northeast - Long Island
Ohio Valley - Jacksonville St.
Pacific-10 - Washington
Pacific Coast - St. Mary's (CA)
Patriot League - Bucknell
Southeastern - Alabama
Southern - Elon
Southland - McNeese St.
Summit - North Dakota St.
Sun Belt - La.-Lafayette
Southwestern - Alcorn St.
Western Athletic - Hawaii


Day Date Game Time (CST)* Network*
Thursday 6/3 1 Noon ESPN
Thursday 6/3 2 2:30 p.m. ESPN
Thursday 6/3 3 6 p.m. ESPN2
Thursday 6/3 4 8:30 p.m. ESPN2
Friday 6/4 5 6 p.m. ESPN
Friday 6/4 6 8:30 p.m. ESPN
Saturday 6/5 7 11 a.m. ESPN2
Saturday 6/5 8 1:30 p.m. ESPN2
Saturday 6/5 9 6 p.m. ESPN
Saturday 6/5 10 8:30 p.m. ESPN
Sunday 6/6 11 Noon ESPN
Sunday 6/6 12 2:30 p.m.

Sunday 6/6 13 (if needed)

6 p.m. ESPN2
Sunday 6/6 14 (if needed)

8:30 p.m. ESPN2
Monday 6/7 Championship Final Game 1

7 p.m. ESPN2
Tuesday 6/8 Championship Final Game 2

7 p.m. ESPN2
Wednesday 6/9 Championship Final Game 3 (if necessary)

7 p.m. ESPN2

*Please go to for updates. Game times and networks are subject to change.

CHAMPIONSHIP NOTES: 2009 Highlights: The University of Washington captured its first National Championship title the University of Florida 8-0 and 3-2 in championships series games one and two, respectively. Washington won the national title behind the pitching of Most Outstanding Player Danielle Lawrie and all-tournament team honorees Kimi Pohlman, Morgan Stuart and Niki Williams. Washington completed the series with a record of 5-1.

For complete championship details log on to