• In 1982, the first NCAA Division I Softball Championship was contested in Omaha, Neb. UCLA shutout Fresno State 2-0 in eight innings to claim the inaugural title.

• The NCAA Division Softball Championship began with a 16-team bracket in 1982. The bracket expanded to 20 teams in 1988, 32 teams in 1994 and 48 teams in 1999, before reaching its current format of 64 teams in 2003.

• Of the 64 teams currently selected to participate in the NCAA Division I Softball Championship, 30 teams receive automatic qualification to the tournament by winning their respective conference titles. The remaining 34 teams are selected on an at-large basis. The top 16 teams in the bracket are seeded.

• UCLA has won 11 NCAA Division I Softball Championships, the most in NCAA women’s softball history. The Bruins captured their inaugural title in 1982, won back-to-back championships in 1984 and 1985, and secured a three-peat from 1988-90, before picking up additional titles in 1992, 1999, 2003, 2004 and 2010.

• The highest attended championship game in Women’s College World Series history occurred in 2012 in Oklahoma City, Okla. 6,804 fans watched Alabama defeat Oklahoma 5-4 in Game 3 of the best-of-three championship series. In addition, a record 75,960 fans walked through the turnstiles during the entirety of the 2012 WCWS.

• Oklahoma City, Okla., has played host to the Women’s College World Series a record 22 times. The championship has taken place in the city every year since 1990, with the exception of 1996, when Columbus, Ga., hosted the event.

• Schools from the states of California and Arizona have won 24 of 31 NCAA Division I Softball Championships. UCLA tops that list with 11 titles while Arizona has claimed eight.

• Teams from the Pac-12 Conference have won 23 of the 31 NCAA Division I Softball Championships. UCLA leads all conference opponents with 11 national titles. Arizona has captured eight championships, while Arizona State has won two and California and Washington have one each.

• The longest game in Women’s College World Series history occurred on May 24, 1984, in Omaha, Neb. Texas A&M defeated Cal Poly Pomona 1-0 in 25 innings.

• In the history of the Women’s College World Series, just one championship game has been decided in extra innings. In 2005, Michigan defeated UCLA 4-1 in 10 innings.

• Fresno State and UCLA are tied for the most appearances in the NCAA Division I Softball Championship, as each team has been selected to the tournament 30 times.

Championship History
Record Books