OKLAHOMA CITY -- The Amateur Softball Association of America announced the top-25 finalists for the 2012 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year. The winner will be announced at the opening of the 2012 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City.

This award, which is considered the most prestigious honor in Division I softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by student athletes across the country. 

The list includes Ashley Hansen, the 2011 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, as well as Katelyn Boyd and Chelsea Thomas, who were the other two finalists.

Now in its 11th year, previous recipients of the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award are UCLA catcher Stacey Nuveman (2002), Texas pitcher Cat Osterman (2003, 2005 and 2006), Florida State pitcher Jessica Van der Linden (2004), Tennessee pitcher Monica Abbott (2007), Virginia Tech pitcher Angela Tincher (2008), Washington pitcher Danielle Lawrie (2009 and 2010) and Stanford shortstop Ashley Hansen (2011). 

The top 25 is comprised of 13 seniors, seven juniors, four sophomores, and one freshman. The student-athletes selected represent 17 Division I universities and eight athletic conferences. While California and Oklahoma lead the way with three athlete representatives each, Alabama, Florida, Tennessee and Washington each have two.  

Just before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be announced May 9. The three finalists will be announced May 23

The USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award is voted on by coaching representatives from 11 Division I Conferences in the 15 ASA Regions as well as members of the media who consistently cover Division I Softball.

Player School Class Position
Valerie Arioto California Senior Utility
Lexy Bennett Texas Senior Infield
Katelyn Boyd Arizona State Senior Shortstop
Kayla Braud Alabama Junior Outfield
Lauren Chamberlain Oklahoma Freshman Infield
Raven Chavanne Tennessee Junior Third Base / Outfield
Rachele Fico LSU Junior Pitcher
Ashley Hansen Stanford Senior Infield
Jolene Henderson California Junior Pitcher / First Base
Kaitlin Inglesby Washington Sophomore Pitcher / First Base
Ashley McClain FIU Senior Outfield / Pitcher
Michelle Moultrie Florida Senior Outfield
Sara Nevins South Florida Sophomore Pitcher
Christi Orgeron Louisiana-Lafayettte Senior Outfield
Sara Plourde Massachusetts Senior Pitcher
Kimi Pohlman Washington Senior Outfield
Jamia Reid California Senior Outfield
Ellen Renfroe Tennessee Sophomore Pitcher
Keilani Ricketts Oklahoma Junior Pitcher
Hannah Rogers Florida Senior Pitcher
Jordan Rutkowski Valparaiso Senior Catcher / Outfield
Jessica Shults Oklahoma Junior Catcher
Chelsea Thomas Missouri Redshirt Junior Pitcher
Jackie Traina Alabama Sophomore Pitcher / Designated player
Delaney Willard BYU Senior Outfield