Championship Interactive Bracket  Championship Printable Bracket

Regional Brackets: Alma | Amherst | Bloomington | Newport News | Pella | Tyler | Union | Willimantic

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Softball Committee has announced the 61 teams that will compete in the 2012 Division III Softball Championship.

Six teams will compete at one regional site, seven teams will compete at one regional site and eight teams will compete at six regional sites. The eight regional sites will use a double-elimination format.

The six-team and seven-team regional rounds will be held May 11-14, and the eight-team regional rounds will be held May 10-14. The finals, hosted by the City of Salem and the Old Dominion Athletic Conference, will be held May 18-22 at the Moyer Complex in Salem, Va.

Forty-one conferences received automatic qualification (Pool A). Two schools were selected from Pool B, which includes independent schools and schools from conferences that do not meet the automatic qualification criteria. The 18 remaining teams were selected on an at-large basis from automatic qualifying conferences and the remaining schools in Pool B.

In 2011, Linfield defeated Christopher Newport to capture its second championship in five years. Linfield finished with 51 wins and only three losses, setting a Division III record for victories in a season. 

The conferences and teams that received automatic qualification to the 2012 championship field included:

Conference Automatic Qualifying Schools
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Penn State-Behrend
American Southwest Texas-Tyler
Capital Athletic Salisbury
Centennial McDaniel
City University of New York Athletic Baruch
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Illinois Wesleyan
Colonial States Athletic Centenary (N.J.)
Commonwealth Coast University of New England
Commonwealth Alvernia
Empire 8 Ithaca
Freedom Misericordia
Great Northeast Athletic Saint Joseph’s (Maine)
Great South Athletic Huntingdon
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Anderson (Ind.)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Central (Iowa)
Landmark Moravian
Little East Eastern Connecticut State
Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Salem State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Alma
Midwest St. Norbert
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic St. Thomas (Minn.)
New England Collegiate Lesley
New England Small College Athletic Tufts
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Coast Guard
New Jersey Athletic Rowan
North Atlantic Husson
North Coast Athletic Denison
North Eastern Athletic Keuka
Northern Athletics Benedictine (Ill.)
Northwest Pacific Lutheran
Ohio Athletic John Carroll
Old Dominion Athletic Roanoke
Presidents’ Athletic Geneva
Skyline Farmingdale State
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Southern Collegiate Athletic Birmingham-Southern
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Fontbonne
State University of New York Athletic Plattsburgh State
Upper Midwest Athletic St. Scholastica
USA South Athletic Ferrum
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Wisconsin-River Falls
Pool B Qualifiers Pool C Qualifiers
Emory Amherst
Rochester Carthage
  Christopher Newport
  SUNY Cortland
  Keene State
  Louisiana College
  Montclair State
  Ohio Northern
  St. John Fisher
  Wisconsin-Eau Claire