OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- The Amateur Softball Association of America and USA Softball revealed the top 25 finalists for the 2013 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, which will be announced at the opening of the 2013 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City. The award, considered the most prestigious honor in Division I women’s collegiate softball, is designed to recognize the outstanding athletic achievement by female players across the country.

Now in its 12th year, previous recipients of the award are UCLA catcher Stacey Nuveman (2002), Texas pitcher Cat Osterman (2003, 2005 and 2006), Florida State pitcher Jessica Van der Linden (2004), Tennessee pitcher Monica Abbott (2007), Virginia Tech pitcher Angela Tincher (2008), Washington pitcher Danielle Lawrie (2009 and 2010), Stanford shortstop Ashley Hansen (2011), and Oklahoma pitcher Keilani Ricketts (2012), who also is among the list of top 25 finalists this season.

This year’s list is comprised of 11 seniors, eight juniors, four sophomores and two freshmen. The student-athletes selected represent 17 NCAA DI universities and five athletic conferences. Alabama leads the way among universities with four athlete representatives, followed by Oklahoma and Tennessee with three apiece, Texas with two and Arizona State, Arkansas, California, Florida, Louisville, LSU, Michigan, Missouri, Notre Dame, Oregon, Penn State, South Florida and Washington each have one member.  

Just prior to the start of postseason play on May 8, the list will be narrowed to 10 finalists. The top three will be announced May 22, and the winner will be revealed on May 28.

The USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award is voted on by coaching representatives from 11 DI Conferences in the 15 ASA Regions, as well as members of the media who consistently cover DI Softball.

Cassidy Bell Penn State Senior Outfield
Kayla Braud Alabama Senior Outfield
Lauren Chamberlain Oklahoma Sophomore Infield
Raven Chavanne Tennessee Senior Third Base/Outfield
Rachele Fico LSU Senior Pitcher
Amber Freeman Arizona State Sophomore Catcher
Michelle Gascoigne Oklahoma Senior Pitcher
Lauren Gibson Tennessee Senior Second Base
Jolene Henderson California Senio Pitcher/First Base
Taylor Hoagland Texas Senior Outfield/Infield
Kaila Hunt Alabama Junior Infield
Kaitlin Inglesby Washington Junior Pitcher/First Base
Katie Keller Louisville Junior Second Base
Emilee Koerner Notre Dame Sophomore Outfield
Blaire Luna Texas Senior Pitcher
Haylie McCleney Alabama Freshman Outfield
Jessica Moore Oregon Senior Pitcher
Sara Nevins South Florida Junior Pitcher
Ellen Renfroe Tennessee Junior Pitcher
Keilani Ricketts Oklahoma Senior Pitcher
Hannah Rogers Florida Junior Pitcher
Sierra Romero Michigan Freshman Infield
Chelsea Thomas Missouri Senior Pitcher
Jackie Traina Alabama Junior Pitcher/Designated player
Devon Wallace Arkansas Sophomore Utility