softball-d1 flag

ASA/USA Softball | April 9, 2014

Top 25 finalists for 2014 USA Softball player of the year announced

  Arizona State's Dallas Escobedo is nominated for the player of the year award.

OKLAHOMA CITY -- The Amateur Softball Association of America and USA Softball announced the top 25 finalists for the 2014 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, which will be announced at the opening of the 2014 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City. This award, which is considered the most prestigious honor in Division I women’s collegiate softball, is designed to recognize the outstanding athletic achievement by female players across the country.

Jill Barrett Tulsa Infield
Farish Beard South Alabama Pitcher
Hannah Campbell South Alabama Pitcher
Whitney Canion Baylor Pitcher
Ally Carda UCLA Pitcher
Courtney Ceo Oregon Infield
Aimee Creger Tulsa Pitcher
Dallas Escobedo Arizona State Pitcher
Amber Freeman Arizona State Catcher
Cheridan Hawkins Oregon Pitcher
Sammy Marshall Western Illinois Utility
Haylie McCleney Alabama Outfield
Sara Moulton Minnesota Pitcher
Sara Nevins South Florida Pitcher
Maddie O'Brien Florida State Infield
Shelby Pendley Oklahoma Infield
Ellen Renfroe Tennessee Pitcher
Kaitlyn Richardson Minnesota Utility
Sierra Romero Michigan Infield
Madison Shipman Tennessee Infield
Jaclyn Traina Alabama Pitcher
Haylie Wagner Michigan Pitcher
Lacey Waldrop Florida State Pitcher
Brejae Washington Texas Outfield
Hallie Wilson Arizona Utility
Now in its 13th year, previous recipients of the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award are UCLA catcher Stacey Nuveman (2002), Texas pitcher Cat Osterman ('03, '05 and '06), Florida State pitcher Jessica Van der Linden ('04), Tennessee pitcher Monica Abbott ('07), Virginia Tech pitcher Angela Tincher ('08), Washington pitcher Danielle Lawrie ('09 and '10), Stanford shortstop Ashley Hansen ('11), and Oklahoma pitcher Keilani Ricketts ('12 and '13).

This year’s top 25 is comprised of 12 seniors, 10 juniors and three sophomores. The student-athletes selected represent 16 NCAA Division I universities and five athletic conferences. Alabama, Arizona State, Florida State, Michigan, Minnesota, Oregon, South Alabama, Tennessee and Tulsa each have two players represented and Arizona, Baylor, Oklahoma, South Florida, Texas, UCLA and Western Illinois each have one member among the top 25 finalists.  

Just prior to the start of post-season play, on May 7 the list will be narrowed to the top 10 finalists. The top three finalists will be announced May 21, while the winner of the 2014 USA Softball collegiate player of the year award will be revealed on May 27 prior to the start of the WCWS in Oklahoma City.

The USA Softball collegiate player of the year award is voted on by coaching representatives from 11 Division I conferences in the 15 ASA regions, members of the media who consistently cover Division I across the country as well as past winners of the award.

25 returning college wrestlers to watch in the 2019-20 season

These are 25 of the most accomplished returning college wrestlers to watch in the 2019-20 season, including 2019 NCAA champions Spencer Lee, Nick Suriano, Yianni Diakomihalis, Mekhi Lewis, Zahid Valencia and Anthony Cassar.

Mark Hall and Zahid Valencia NCAA title match: Rewatched with my dad, a former All-American wrestler

We break down the 2019 174-pound NCAA championship match with help from Curt Scovel, an All-American wrestler and former captain of the University of Maryland wrestling team.

The 9 winningest college baseball teams in NCAA history

It's safe to say that the winningest school in college baseball history won't be caught for a long, long time (if ever).

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners