softball-d1 flag

Cal State Fullerton Athletics | April 16, 2014

Cal State Fullerton ends Long Beach State's 11-game win streak

FULLERTON, Calif. -- Cal State Fullerton snapped an 11-game winning streak for Long Beach State with an 8-0 five-inning win in the first game of a three-game series on the road. Shayna Kimbrough led the 49ers with two extra-base hits on the day.

Cal State Fullerton (25-17-1, 6-4 Big West) was able to survive a 49er threat in the top of the first after a Kimbrough triple, and got on the board in the bottom half of the inning. Following a double by Missy Taukeiaho, the Titans were able to push the leadoff batter to third where she came home on a sacrifice fly from Eliza Crawford.

The Titans tacked on one more run in the second inning, and took a 3-0 lead on a solo home run from Eliza Crawford in the bottom of the third. Cal State Fullerton continued to threaten, but Amanda Hansen came on in relief with one out and two runners on and was able to get out of the inning with a pair of strikeouts.

In the fourth, Cal State Fullerton added two more runs on a home run from Missy Taukeiaho, but Long Beach State (32-10, 9-1 Big West) appeared to get out of the inning on a strikeout from Hansen with two runners on base. However, after an appeal, Samantha Galarza’s strikeout was overturned, called a foul tip. Given a second chance, Galarza came through with an RBI single, and then an error on a stolen base attempt by the Titan second baseman allowed a fourth run in the inning to come home to score.

A leadoff double for Lauren Mario in the fifth inning got the Titans started, and after two bunt singles, an RBI single by Taukeiaho ended the game.

Jasmine Antunez picked up the win for the Titans, allowing two hits over five shutout innings.

Programs with the most Men's College World Series titles

Here's a look at the college baseball programs with multiple Men's College World Series titles.

Here are the college baseball coaches with the most College World Series victories

Here's a look at the 12 coaches who have the most wins in the College World Series.

2021 Big West baseball preview: Who can challenge UC Santa Barbara?

Led by UC Santa Barbara, we’ve got a whole new Big West starting up in 2021, including new programs joining the Big West in former D2 national power UC San Diego and former WAC member CSU Bakersfield. Let's see how they match up.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners